We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views & good value if you walk up & buy something!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Roberts Tramway

Mount Roberts Tramway
490 South Franklin St, At the waterfront near the cruise-ship dock, Juneau, AK 99801
907 463 3412
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 26 Attractions in Juneau
Type: Trams
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A six-minute ride up a 1,670-foot mountain slope.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stunning views & good value if you walk up & buy something!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We did the trail up from downtown Juneau which was an excellent start to prepare us for the miles of hiking we have since done on our Alaskan highway. Locals had told us if you walk up & then spend $10 each in the gift shop/cafe (too I believe), you get the tram ride back. Tram ride is pretty quick but views pretty amazing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    254
    118
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Expensive for what we experienced but glad we did it - if only to say "Been there, done that!"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After our cruise ship docked we went straight to the Tramway to look at Juneau from above. It was a gloriously sunny day so we were well rewarded with clear views - our 80,000 tonne ship and the two others in dock looked so tiny. Very little to do at the top -the trails were closed, because of snow and avalanch risk but we did see a real eagle in a tree as well as the unhappy injured one kept in rather small confines. Trip expensive for what we got but the15 minute film in the visitor centre about local Tlingit people was interesting and worth seeing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Expensive $31 Ride”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took the tramway at around 7 in the evening and thought there would be something good at the top. The ticketing person said nothing. The tram driver told us there was a captive eagle that we would see also a webcam to an eagle's nest. The eagle had been put away for the night and according to the gift shop at the top there was no webcam. Beyond that we decided to take a walk along the trails which we found were blocked with 'Trail Closed' and 'Landslide Warning' notices. The view was OK looking back down at the ship but would have been better if we had enjoyed being there. This tramway should have seasonal and time of day prices according to what is available. Compared with Grouse Mountain in Vancouver what this tramway offered was daylight robbery.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Expensive view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although we were here on a beautiful sunny day, and the view going up and from the tower was spectacular, for what you get, this is a very expensive trip. $31 per person for about a 5 minute tram ride is ridiculous. The trails were closed due to mud and snow on the ground, the lone eagle on display looked sad and was confined in a stark and barren cage, and the film was interesting (about the local Native American tribe) but told nothing about the location or the construction of the tramway. Windows were not easy to shoot through for decent photos, either on the tram or from the viewing platform. Staff were somewhat surly and unfriendly as well. I will skip this my next time in Juneau.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We took the tram up in the rain, but it cleared while we were there. What a view. Enjoyed the film provided in the visitor center. Honor was the gal in the film area and she and I chated for a bit. She was a local and chatted about her growing up there (interesting-thank you). We enjoyed the gift shop as well. Nice facilities and enjoyed seeing the bald eagle that is being watched after (it had been shot). The caregivers are gentle caring people. Still snow at the top.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Roberts Tramway also viewed

 

Been to Mount Roberts Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Roberts Tramway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.