We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing about this was the woman behind the counter!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Last Chance Mining Museum

Last Chance Mining Museum
1001 Basin Rd., From downtown, take Gold St. to the top, then turn left, continuing up the valley to the end of Basin Rd., Juneau, AK
907/586-5338
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$93*
and up
Juneau Super Saver: Gold Panning and Salmon Bake
Ranked #37 of 67 things to do in Juneau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum that explores the history of the region's mining industry.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best thing about this was the woman behind the counter!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We learned more from the woman who worked there than anything else! Not many people go here. My family was the only one there at the time and my husband and son got a one on one history lesson for about half an hour and loved it. The museum is one big room. Not everything is labeled.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    10
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs a little work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The walk is to the mine was lovely. The people were very knowledgeable and gave us a nice talk. I felt the displays need to be better labeled. I had no idea what some of the things were. Would have like to have seen more displays of the mining industry in the 30's. Perhaps some displays that miners and conditions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau AK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A piece of mining and Juneau history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We always take or send visitors here. Last time I was up it was staffed by volunteers, so check hours. It's just around a corner from downtown Juneau but instntly puts you in another world. It offers many historical items and exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mine views from Juneaus Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is an ok visit to self described , half underground, Juneau's past hard - rock mining scene. An old adit put with the past mining scenes with a live demonstration of drills and techniques

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely short hike and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

With two teens in tow, the hike from town to the mining museum was enchanting. The road is lined with water falls, wildflowers, trailheads, and views. The museum has some ancient machinery and good descriptions of mining life, geology, and Alaska. A little something for everyone. The 'keeper' is a former teacher and offers guidance and info freely. She sells simple gold mining pans and we spent 2 hours on the property' waters mining for gold in the warm sunshine. It is a prisitine location to spend a leisurely outdoor afternoon. The kids were thrilled they actually found some gold flecks!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Chance Mining Museum also viewed

 

Been to Last Chance Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Last Chance Mining Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.