We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silverbow is the place to stay in Juneau--It rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverbow Inn

Save Saved
You added Silverbow Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silverbow Inn
120 2nd Street, Juneau, AK 99801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Juneau B&B and Inns
berkeleycowboy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Silverbow is the place to stay in Juneau--It rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Silverbow ROCKS- a great place to stay and a very friendly staff and the famous bottomless cookie jar--
I have stayed at the Silverbow 2 times( for a week at a time )and will return next summer for another stay--it is close to everything and easy to walk to the downtown shops- the staff is always ready to assist you and very friendly--Jill's young son told me I had to try the Jacuzzi ( I will take my bathing suit next summer)

The bakery and cafe next door has some amazing bread and soup great for lunch or dinner. I am used to good soup and bread in Berkeley but the bread and soup were awesome--

An extra bonus is the legendary "Bottomless Cookie Jar"--- anytime of the day you can grab some incredible cookies or brownies created in the bakery ready for you in the kitchen-

You will have a great stay at the Silverbow Inn-- a great atmosphere with nice people -Go For It
Dan from Berkeley

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    63
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
32
76
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Having the best bakery, killer bagels and a hot tub on the roof made the stay memorable. All the staff, especially Paul made us feel welcome and provided us with lot's of local knowledge. The bathrooms were immaculate. Good spot to stop on our way to our adventure cruise.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The hotel seems to have listened to some of the (few) negative comments as we had nothing but positive experiences there. We arrived late and someone was waiting for us, even offering us food - excellent bagels and cream cheese toppings. Since we had not had time to eat between flights, it was appreciated. Our room was small but clean with a fan for the unseasonably hot weather. The breakfasts were delicious and put out by 6 AM. I appreciated the large number of choices and also that the pastries were in small pieces for tasting. There were many books available about the area in the lobby as well as paperbacks for exchange. Wi-fi and a computer in the lobby were available. They also had a movie in the restaurant Monday through Wednesday, a welcome change from TV wasteland.

The location couldn't be better. We were within walking distance of everything in town and far enough away from the cruise ships to avoid some of the noise and crowds, though I have to admit we slept so well and got up early so we may not have heard the nearby construction noise.

This was my second visit. The first was for business and it worked just fine for both. We would definitely stay there again. There may be more charming B&B's in Juneau, but they are either much more expensive or located out of town thus requiring a car. This place was comfortable, funky, and reasonable for Juneau.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Our stay at the Silverbow proved to be one of the better inns we have stayed at. It was comfortable, eclectic, friendly and provided a vast assortments of conveniences at no extra charge. The staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Silverbow is an excellent choice for any traveler looking to be centrally located in Juneau. The staff was very helpful and courteous. All night access to left overs from the bakery was an absolute godsend after a long night at the Alaskan:) The roof top hot hub was a perfect way to relax after our hike up Mt. Roberts. The only gripe I had was our room smelled like fish when we had the windows open, no big deal though. Other than that, rest assured you'll be well taken care of at the Silverbow!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Silverbow Hotel is for people who are tired of the "cookie cutter" hotels. It is a unique cross between a hotel and a B&B staffed with Juneau's best people. I go to Juneau for business and make sure there is room at the Silverbow before booking my trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We travelled to Canada and Alaska as our 10th wedding anniversary treat to ourselves and only booked the first part of the trip in advance for flexibility. When we arrived via Alaska Marine Highway into Juneau it was almost midnight, so we couldn't see much of the hotel or it's location but Joe and Paul greeted us, showed us to our room and gave us the rundown on what to expect. Our room was large, comfortable, and freshly decorated. The real surprises were to come the next day. Breakfast is an informal help-yourself affair in the combined dining area/lobby. We made waffles from the batter provided, tried the excellent muesli and granola, and of course ate the bagels the bakery is famous for. Most importantly we chatted to other guests and to the helpful relaxed staff, picking up tips and stories we wouldn't have heard if the hotel had been any more formal. Social hour at 5 every evening was another great way of meeting people and swapping stories of the wonderful things we'd seen and done that day - and there are plenty of those around Juneau. Two nights a week the Silverbow holds movie nights in the adjacent restaurant. There's a guest hottub on the roofdeck with a great slice of view and some of the comfiest outdoor furniture ever. We planned to stay a few days and extended to 10. We took muesli home and made some new friends. You won't get that many places. Well done Jill and the whole team!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silverbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbow Inn

Address: 120 2nd Street, Juneau, AK 99801
Location: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to seeing you at the Silverbow Inn Hotel during your next visit to Juneau, Alaska's capital city. The Silverbow Inn is located in the center of historic downtown Juneau in a newly remodeled 1914 building. The Silverbow is a boutique hotel which blends the comforts and convenience of a bed and breakfast with the character and charm of a European-style urban pension. Your hosts, who live in the building, are available to share their extensive knowledge of Juneau and Alaska. They want your stay to be as special as possible. Guests at The Silverbow enjoy a free full breakfast, free highspeed wireless internet, cable TV, private bathrooms, free local phone calls, daily housekeeping, a 24 hour wet bar with complimentary coffee and tea service, private rooftop garden with jacuzzi/sauna, and much more. Summertime guests also enjoy a bottomless cookie jar and an evening wine tasting social hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Silverbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverbow Inn Juneau, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverbow Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.