We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Cafe

Sandpiper Cafe
429 W Willoughby Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1727
907-586-3150
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 114 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Juneau
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food is good and uncomplicated. Good ingredients prepared well, seasoned (the cooks know how to use salt and pepper!) and the portionsare large. There is not a lot of variety but that is a good thing-what they make, they make very well. Service is quick and reliable. I am a very specific eater-I want my salad without this and this but with that, etc. and they never get my order wrong.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    55
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food Beautifully Presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

When we walked in we had a moment where we considered leaving, as it didn't appear to have the ambiance we would expect for the number two rated restaurant in Juneau. The menu seemed very basic. We were very pleasantly surprised. Had the soup of the day which was baked potato. It was excellent. My husband had the French toast sampler. He shared a couple of bites with me and it was yummy as well. Both plates were nicely presented with garnishes. Would be a good place to go for a full breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the outside you'd expect a diner-like experience. Not so on the inside. The menu is interesting, featuring quality, well-prepared and presented foods. The staff is friendly, and the owner, Doug, is in the kitchen cheffing, in the mornings at least. We ate breakfast there three times and really enjoyed the food each time. The smoked salmon omlette is superb! I wanted to try a venison or wild boar burger for lunch, but could not fit it in. From what we could gather, the clientele was far more local than tourist. Heartily recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Strong rich coffee, more please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Perfect breakfast for a chilly drizzly day. Tourist season is over so maybe the service was outstanding for a reason. Red potatoes were done perfectly, not mushy. The quiche was so beautiful, rich crust. Enough food for two meals so come ready to carry a box afterwards.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great breakfast, but not inexpensive. Typical of anywhere in Alaska, food in restaurants is pretty good but expensive by lower 48 standards. The sourdough pancakes are light and fluffy, with the added fruit they are a very filling breakfast. Vegetarian breakfast burritos, a great flavor but made with real eggs.
Egg beaters not available for any dish, coffee is way better than your average breakfast spot.
All in all pretty good value for Alaska, they will take reservations for 6 or more. Otherwise expect to wait 10-30 mins on the weekend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sandpiper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.