We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite spot in Juneau!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mendenhall Glacier

Mendenhall Glacier
End of Glacier Spur Road, Juneau, AK 99801
9077890097
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mendenhall Glacier like an insider
Private Tour
$262*
and up
Private Tour: Mendenhall Glacier Hike with...
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Helicopter rides, Mountaineering, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Mendenhall Lake, this glacier is 1.5 miles wide and 12 miles long.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favorite spot in Juneau!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

I grew up in Juneau and the Mendenhall Glacier is definitely my favorite place in town. I always enjoy visiting any time I am in town. Try and avoid the big tourist crowds and hike around the many trails in the area. I enjoy the water fall as there are far fewer tourists making the trek out to it. Allow a few hours to really enjoy the beautiful scenery. If you can, do you own hike and avoid the touristy set-ups. The West Glacier trail is amazing but is a 3-4 hour trek while the East Glacier trail is right by the visitor's center and is good hike, ~2-3 hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,682
    457
    58
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

Looking at the Falls you have to believe that there is a greater power to have created this. We were able to walk to the falls and feel the cold water coming down.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelplin, Poland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wow view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

If in Juneau, you have to go and get close to a glaciar, and the best, cheapest and easiest way to do it is to check Mendenhall. Take your camera!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Helicopter trip far exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

Took niece up on Temsco helicopter tour of Mendenhall and it rocked! As a former military member and current commercial pilot I thought maybe my past experiences would have dulled my enthusiasm for the ride, but quite the contrare! The pilot did an outstanding job and the college coed on the glacier was both knowledgable and entertaining in her glacier presentation. Take a coat...you're standing on ice...but try not to miss this (melting) opportunity.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gotta see a glacier at least once in your life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Everyone should see a glacier. I went before the tourists show up. I recommend that. There were 4 cars in the parking lot. I was alone. Who could ask for more?

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mendenhall Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendenhall Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.