We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the Tram” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Roberts Trail

Mount Roberts Trail
1/2 mile from cruise ship dock, Juneau, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 59 things to do in Juneau
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hiking trail beginning in downtown Juneau that is great for novices.
Onset, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Part of the Tram”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Did this hike while up here on the Mount Roberts Tramway. If you're a geocacher, be sure to get the cachers at the top of the mountain while taking all the photos you can. We were at the mountain in late afternoon, so the afternoon light was breathtaking and lit the mountain range with beautiful golden sunlight. We visited in September 2010, but didn't have that date selection for this review.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    55
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Climbing Mt. Roberts in Juneau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently enjoyed a Alaska Cruise Tour on the "Diamond Princess" and one of the stops was in Juneau. We took the tram to the top of Mt. Roberts on a previous trip and enjoyed it very much. This time a waiter in a local restaurant told us that there is a easy path up to the top and once you are there , all you need to do is spend $5.- per person in the mountain top Restaurant and you can take the tram down for free. The regular fare is $29.-.
Well, we took the trail, not realizing that it had rained very hard for the previous week. It was muddy and slippery but there are great views and we had a great time. Then we stopped in the Restaurant and were told you had to spent $10.- per person to ride the tram. We drank a bottle of wine and later to our surprise it turned out you had to pay nothing to ride down. Nobody is asking for a receipt or anything. It was a great walk and we had a great time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great way to get to the high country above Juneau!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

clear, dry weather makes this an easy way to get to the top of the ridge above Juneau. They have an ok native shop and restaurant where you can get local Halibut and local Beer after the big, or little, climb.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Worth the visit if you have time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went up on last visit expecting a tourist trap. To my surprise there was plenty to do, walked up the mountain on trails, looked down on the town and inlet. Saw eagles soaring above and below the review. After spending most of a day delightfully walking the mountain, went to tourist area and also had fun.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were fortunate to be in Juneau when the weather was warm, clear and sunny.
My friend and I hiked up the Mount Roberts trail. It was not too difficult but you need to be reasonably fit as there are some steep parts but the views were spectacular. You will need good walking shoes and I would expect it to be slippery if it was wet and raining.
I am a fairly fit 60 ish person and I did not find it difficult and it was well worth it for the views and the sense of satisfaction. We took the cable car down. There is a visitors' centre and cafe at the top.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Roberts Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mount Roberts Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Roberts Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.