We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town, wonderful, friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icy Strait Point

Icy Strait Point
108 Cannery Rd, Hoonah, AK 99829
907-945-3141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Hoonah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Icy Strait Point is located in the town of Hoonah on Chichagof Island. We are a quick 20 minute flight from Juneau Alaska. Icy Strait Point is the only private cruse ship destination in Alaska, we offer over 20 different shore excursions including ATV's, Biking, Kayaking, Nature Tours the best whale watching in Alaska and the worlds largest and highest Zipline ride. We also have 3 waterfront restaurants with breathtaking views offering some of the freshest seafood you will ever eat. Don't miss our unique Shopping center, a free museum, walking trails, etc.
Yelm, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small town, wonderful, friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had never heard of Icy Strait Point, before seeing shore excursions listed on my cruise information. Cruise ships are unable to dock, so everyone has to be tendered in to shore. The history of this small settlement is really interesting and everyone was very, friendly and eager to answer questions. I would like to be able to go again and see more than what I was able to see while I was there. Would recommend going to Icy Strait. Great time there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    102
    43
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SWFL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“whale watch from dock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Watched a whale bubble feed from a dock for half an hour. Watched kayakers and the whale watching boat watch the same show for paid money. Took $5 shuttle to/from ISP to town of Hoonah - could have easily walked but took so long to get off ship, time was limited. Nice service of Hoonah and smart of them to get tourists to town. Spent some nice cash in town on Native Crafts. Saw either a Dall Porphoise or a very fast killer whale in the same area as the ship at ISP. Nature is amazing here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Icy Strait Point / Hoonah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Such a wonderful town and port. Felt like "real alaska" less commercialized than other ports. Loved the trails for hiking, the zipline, and the town nearby. Can't recommend the whale watching enough. You can also rent bikes to explore the island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praiano, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Worth visiting. Lots of local history as you expect in a museum. To visit a remote area like Icy Strait it is nice to now how it evolved.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go Here Before You Die”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Rent a kayak and hire a water taxi out of Juneau or Hoonah. Camp at or near Point Adolphus. Let the humpback whales come to you. They most certainly will.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icy Strait Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icy Strait Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.