We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Room with a View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Room with a View
Save
You added A Room with a View to your Saves list
840 Rosebud Court, Homer, AK 99603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Homer B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Count on having the very best in service, including the rooms, the view, the wonderful breakfasts, and engaging local host. Manfred even came down the hill to escort me; I was tired from the long drive. Everything spotless, reading area with refrig, microwave, can make tea and coffee or heat your own meal. Even open during winter. I was totally happy with my three night stay and would
pick this B and B again.

Room Tip: Both rooms have the same view, and each has its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful night at this b&b. manfred was a wonderful host, the breakfast was incredible. Very clean and comfortable, with guests having the downstairs, each with own bathroom and sharing a common area. The common area also has a small fridge and microwave. The twin mattresses in the moose room were a bit soft, as I like a firm mattress. There are a lot of trophy animal mounts, which we enjoyed but some folks may not. Would love to stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had two great evenings at the B&B. A view of the bay and mountain glaciers to the south. The flowers and yard were beautiful. B'fast was good; with the view! I'd go back! Great host!
Drive steep but manageable. Room & bath --Very clean!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Could not have had a better stay. Manfred's hospitality and sharing of local knowledge were big "plusses". Homer is a bit spread out, so it helps to have personal transportation. The view afforded by the short drive up the hill, plus the quality of the overall B & B experience, cannot be surpassed!

Room Tip: Just 2 rooms, so you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Room with a View was our favorite B & B while in Alaska. Manfred was most accommodating and helpful. The lodging was very clean, inviting, and warm. We were amazed at the beautiful art and decorations. Breakfast was great, and we could not have asked for a better view of Kachemak Bay as we enjoyed our breakfast. Manfred was very helpful with sight-seeing ideas--we saw things that we would have missed had it not been for him. If we return to Homer, it will be our lodging of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at A room with a view! Manfred was very helpful in choosing what to do in Homer he has so many menus and pamphlets for you to look thru. We stayed in the Bear room. It is cozy, there is a common bath and common sitting area with a tv, although we had the space to ourselves. We enjoyed our breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit! We didn't spend much time at the b n b we where too busy doing fun things in Homer. We went flight seeing with Beluga Lake Air it was an awesome experience its very affordable and a great way to see the bay and glaciers we also saw lots of wildlife including two grizzly bears. We also did the Seldovia day cruise with Discovery Tours and loved that as well you will see sea otters, bald eagles and a few harbor seals. We would stay here again! It would be great to rent both rooms and bring friends or family next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well worth the climb up the hill, Manfred has a beautiful home which he shared with us for two nights. Very clean and beautifully decorated. When we went up for breakfast in the morning - what a view! Also, the house is split in two levels, we had the lower level to ourselves, thus could stay up and talk, etc late into the nite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Room with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Room with a View

Address: 840 Rosebud Court, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Alaskan home and B&B in Homer, Alaska. We are 1100 feet above Kachemak Bay with incredible panoramic views. Our specialty is a hearty, home-cooked breakfast that will get you off to a good start on your day of adventure or relaxation. We are retired from 40 years in the flower business and you will see plenty of evidence of our passion in our landscaping and well-groomed gardens. We offer two comfortable rooms each with their own bathroom/shower and a guest area with TV/DVD, movies & games. We look forward to sharing our beautiful Bed & Breakfast with you and providing an unforgettable Alaskan experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Room with a View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.