We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place for History & Aquatic Education” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center

Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center
95 Sterling Highway, Homer, AK 99603
907.235.6961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Homer
Type: Natural History Museums, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center is a partnership between the US Fish and Wildlife Service's Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge and the Kachemak Bay Research Reserve. Built in 2003 as a resource for the community and visitors to Homer, Alaska, the building houses interpretive and interactive exhibits and displays describing the important work and research of the Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge and the Kachemak Bay Research Reserve.Located at 95 Sterling Highway, there are opportunities to enjoy the exhibit hall, informative videos, regular educational programming, and Ranger/Naturalist-led walks and presentations.The Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center is your window to the largest seabird refuge in the world, with all of the natural wonders of Kachemak Bay right outside its doors!
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for History & Aquatic Education”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A museum of the Alaska region walks you through the history of Alaska and the aquatic life of the oceans. You could spend the entire day there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    55
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place - Try the Junior Biologist Program!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had read some reviews of the center before we visited and saw that most people really enjoyed it but some thought there wasn't enough there . . . . When my son (age 9) and I visited, we sort of found both - at first, it didn't seem like there was all that much, as it's not a large place. However, then my son got a Junior Biologist booklet, which sent him on sort of a "scavenger hunt" around the center - mostly indoors, but a little outdoors. He & I both ended up learning a lot - when he would get stuck, I would help him find the area of the center where he could do some research and find the answers he needed. This really added to our experience! When he finished, we learned that they were out of patches, but one of the staff members gave him an insulated lunch bag and they took his name and address. I don't think we had been home even two weeks before he also received his patch, which is VERY attractive. It was a gray, misty day outside, so having someplace great to explore and learn inside was super. Oh, and they had a bunch of interactive activities going on in the "lab," which my son also enjoyed, even though we were running out of time. So, overall, this was a great place and the fact that it's FREE is pretty amazing!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really well done, LOTS of information”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Really enjoyed this Visitor Center, beautiful building, with a great setting. Not a lot of displays, and there is a lot of text. Maybe this is geared more for adults than small children. Not sure if they ever have docents, it might help some. Definitely need to make a visit if you are in Homer!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Informative, Educational, Well-Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a nice center to visit if you want to learn about the ocean, ocean-life and the area. Displays are excellent and staff very helpful. You can also book tours here to learn about ocean life.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“What a treat! And it's FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent hours on a wet, windy Homer day and didn't even see it all! We're glad we watched the movie about the research before we dove into the main exhibits. Made the hands-on experiences more meaningful! I'm sure being a biologist makes me a little biased but this is truly a gem and at a fantastic price of FREE! I even attended an open lab session and relished the opportunity to talk to well educated and enthusiastic docents. Liked it so well we returned and spent another hour later later in the week!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Islands and Ocean Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.