We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish n chips were great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Face Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy Face Restaurant
4400 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8003
907-235-0148
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 58 Restaurants in Homer
Restaurant details
gadsden alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fish n chips were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Can't wait to go back for fish ,great clean restaraunt. We were in homer in July and stopped by to eat

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Place for Fish and Chips - Year Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

One of the few places open on the Spit in the Winter...and so glad they are! Reasonable and Tasty, always.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my home town place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

ive been eating at the happy face since the day i got on the spit. they are open most of the year when the wind is blowing and nothing else is open. elezibeth the owner used to let me eat when i had no money and pay her back when i got some money together - i swear sometimes i had over 10 tickets. i gave them a 5 because they are a part of the spit community and it woudnt be the same without them there. im sure the day i get back on the spit ill be ordering a happy face burger cooked by che- nice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Average Food - Friendly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The food was average but our server was attentive & friendly. The Happy Face is located right next to the Salty Dawg Saloon. After we ate, we walked next door & checked out the Salty Dawg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Popular with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A family member lives here and took us to the Happy Face for a quick lunch. It was cool, windy and raining yet busy for a late afternoon. Re-met some locals here.

You will have to climb a set of stairs to the second floor so be aware. Parking is somewhat limited too. While it is on the Spit, it is not a touristy spot; just, basic restaurant that offers American and Oriental fare.

The Chinese dish was a custom split of two dishes and smelled great. It last long enough for a taste. The other 5 dishes were all Halibut with chips. It was tender, lightly fried with too many not-so-great fries. There were no left overs so all seemed satisfied. Tab for 6 was $90.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Face Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Happy Face Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Face Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.