We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned fare.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead

Homestead
55829 East End Road, Mile 8.2 East End Road, Homer, AK 99603
+1 907-235-8723
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Homestead is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Old fashioned fare.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Almost gave up finding this place and then re -read the information that it is actually 8 miles from Homer. Very oldfashioned decor but excellent food with good service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    20
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as great as the reviews from room brochures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food, service and views were very, very good. The room brochures had outlandous claims like, " worth walking to " and Food and Wine recommended etc. It was good, very good, But The Saltry is AAA

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“East of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was time for another dinner out and we decided at the last minute to go out for dinner. Although it is the closest restaurant to where we live we consider it one of the best we have ever dined at, not just in Alaska, anywhere. The view of Kachemak Bay are great, but not all tables have the view. There is a full service bar. Friday and Saturday has prime rib. Drive east of the blinker light (intersection of Lake and Pioneer / East End Road about 8 miles. It is across the street from the Fritz Creek Store and P.O. which one should check out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Five Stars Are Not Enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Five years ago my husband and I ate at the The Homestead as a result of just driving around Homer looking for a place to eat dinner. What we found was a treasure, a pearl of culinary delight! We both decided that The Homestead had provided us with the best meal we had ever eaten.

Last week we were in Homer, AK, again and we purposefully went to The Homestead, and we took family and friends with us. We again had one of the best dinners that we've ever eaten and highly recommend this restaurant to others.

The wait staff provided excellent service and the chef was willing to make several modifications in sauces due to several food allergies that existed among our group's members. All of those who chose to accompany us to The Homestead expressed their appreciation for our recommendation.

I would definitely make reservations because the restaurant was quite busy the evening we visited. Even if one had to wait to be served, I would venture that the wait would be worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service, great food, and even better views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate here on the recommendation of our B&B owner and he did not steer us wrong! The views are amazing. The atmosphere reminded us of a Wisconsin supper club. The salads were enormous and the side-striped shrimp were incredible. I had some sort of drink with salmon vodka that was quite tasty as well. This was some of the best food we had in all of Alaska.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.