We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Olives Restaurant

Fat Olives Restaurant
276 Ohlson Ln, Homer, AK 99603-7803
907-235-8488
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 55 restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were very pleased with Fat Olive on Wed. May 8th. The Italian Pizza was excellent. Would definitely order that one again. The Roman tasted a little bland. Very extensive menu. Was a little pricey, though, especially for specialty pizzas and other non-pizza items on the menu. They were very willing to split the bill any way we wanted (which is as it should be). Great atmosphere and very clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    159
    101
    34
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We always stop here each year when we come to Homer. This year is a disappointment. Yes they're still understaffed, but the floor crew of a hostess, busser, and waitress did well. The busser stated my husband was a human garbage disposal. Word to restaurant owners, someone else might take offense to a comment like that. The prices do not merit the quality of the appetizers and entrees. The menu is not what is used to be either.
The mixed grill was broiled slices of sausage on two skewers with 2 skewers of frozen thawed shrimp. The tomato cream sauce they use for a few of their dishes needed tomato and a little salt. Very bland. I wouldn't ave known tomatoes were involved in the sauce, except the menu said they were.
Definitely not worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a favorite amongst tourists; the Nonni salad is pretty good I admit. But I've always found it to be overpriced mediocre food with a very hectic loud environment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what we had hoped for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A neat place to hang out and the service was really good. Unfortunately my dish was a fish pasta with the fish really overcooked. Husband had a pork dish that was good though not great. For the price I was really bummed. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing though it was a special and reccomended by the server.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Satisfying dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After a long day with a lot of chill and wind, we were ready for a healthy, substantive meal. Pizza and pasta were on our minds and Fat Olives delivered. I had a mildly spiced pasta dish that was very cheesy and my son loved the pizza so much, he ate the whole thing. We slept warm from the inside out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Olives Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fat Olives Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Olives Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.