We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and full of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alaska Beach House to your Saves list
Alaska Beach House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1121 Seabreeze Court, Homer, AK 99603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gardnerville, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Compass Rose cottage is charming, relaxing and very comfortable, and the views cannot be beat. A perfect serene location in Homer and the perfect hosts! Doug and Sue were very welcoming and made our anniversary trip one to remember! We thank you and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbum578, Owner at Alaska Beach House, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We loved having you here. We hope your Anniversary was one you will remember.!
It was wonderful meeting you. Thank you for the review.
Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    18
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
103
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Alaska Beach House in the Kachemak Room. The location was great. Close to attractions in Homer and with a lovely view of the beach and mountains. The bed was very comfortable and the table and couch allowed you to watch the eagles in the trees and just enjoy the view.

We were extremely disappointed to find that the hot tub was not working. If I would have known that, I would not have justified the cost of the most expensive B&B we stayed in Alaska.

The breakfast food was good, but only bread, yogurt and juice. We personally liked the quiet getaway, but others expecting a typical bed and breakfast establishment where you meet others and breakfast together should look for other options.

The owners were extremely nice and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbum578, Owner at Alaska Beach House, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We value our guests comments.
To address a few of your concerns.

We are not advertised as a full bed and breakfast. We are not one. We just choose to offer something to snack on.
Our website does not advertise such. It also states we do not have a Gathering Room, and there is no hot tub this year. It is not listed, due to winter damage.

We did enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family of 5 were guests last May at the Alaska Beach House. We are from Anchorage, though for 2 days it seemed as though we were on a beach far, far away! Doug and Sue were most gracious hosts - almost invisible yet always there for our every inquiry as to local attractions, culture, and cuisine. The Alaska Beach House rests on a bluff overlooking the Homer Spit where eagles take roost in the trees above. With steps down to the beach, access to an unforgettable experience was moments away. The rooms were clean and inviting with lovely Alaska-themed decor. Rent 2 rooms which open up to each other to make it an even more luxurious family outing. I only hope our schedule (and their's!) allows us the opportunity to once again enjoy a relaxing, pleasant Alaskan getaway!!! Thanks, again, Doug & Sue!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're able to get on the schedule, take any room you can get!!! This B&B is a hot attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Alaska Beach House B&B! There are bald eagles living in a tree on the property, you can walk down to the beach, it is close to the Spit, restaurants & activities. Doug and Sue are nice hosts. We had good muffins or bread each day. We were very happy!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My gratitude goes out to Doug and Sue for making our few days in Homer, AK very enjoyable. The room was very clean, the bed was most comfortable, the hot-tub was a blast, the setting was fabulous, and our hosts were most gracious. My wife and I recommend the Alaska Beach house to anyone who wants to relax, enjoy the views, and be in the company of Hotel owners that really care about their customer experience. We will be back to Homer someday and we know exactly where we'll be staying. This was our first time to Homer so we had no idea what to expect and given the options of all the hotels and B&B's in Homer, we know we made the right choice after seeing all the other hotels and B&B's there. Sometimes, you just get lucky and we did indeed.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The views are amazing, and that is why we chose the Alaska Beach House. The location is gorgeous and we got to watch bald eagles hunting sea gulls on the beach. We found Doug and Sue to be very cool and enjoyed that we felt a lot of privacy while here. The rooms were comfortable and the grounds were very nice. The breakfasts are a little small compared to other places I've stayed, but I knew that before-hand. I would recommend staying here if you go to Homer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Took my honey for our 20th Anniversary get away to Homer. Like most men I planned this last minute and found out that everyone was booked. I got a lead on a last minute cancellation @ the Alaskan Beach House and jumped at the good fortune. I personal was not wanting to stay in a Bed n Breakfast, but that is what my honey wanted to do.

I rented the cottage on the bluff that is detached from the rest of the rooms. It over looks the Homer Spit and the Ocean. We had excellent weather and were able to walk the beach on low tide. My wife's expression at the site of the inside of the room reminded me of my young daughter at Christmas. Needless to say I scored 100%+ on this room and location.

The host Sue and Doug were wonderful. They had the outdoor wood fired hot tub ready for us when we arrived. Sue had put a vase of roses and nice large piece of chocolate Cheese cake in our room for that extra special touch. The rooms were adorned with an fishing/sea theme that I would expect to find in some east coast Massachusetts fishing town.

The bed appeared to be a California King, and was VERY comfortable. They had a nice deck that you could sit on and watch the ocean and beach. It was so nice to hear the waves roll in while drifting off to sleep. Bathroom was very roomy and we had our own mini kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave. We had dishes and utensils, even had a cork screw for the wine we bought at the local winery.

I would 100% recommend Alaska Beach House to friends and visitors a like. My experience has opened me up to trying another Bed and Breakfast in the future. I only hope it will be as nice as this one!

Sincerely,

Chris Brandt

Room Tip: All the rooms are great their. But if you want to surprise your better half, then get the cottage if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Beach House

Address: 1121 Seabreeze Court, Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alaska Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding luxury lodging located on the water's edge in Homer Alaska, Alaska Beach House. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the waves. We offer beach access, Free High Speed internet, TV, 2 BBQ's, fire pit (smores/hotdogs), mini Kitchenettes, private entrances and baths. Each room has a wonderful comfy bed for your nights rest, with deluxe linens. Our rooms offer a TV, coffee pot, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, and bath soap, for your convenience. Patio furniture for relaxing outside and viewing the bay and wildlife. We do not offer a FULL breakfast. Coffee, and tea are available in your room each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alaska Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Beach House b&b
Alaska Beach House Hotel Homer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.