We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy in serene environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges to your Saves list
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
135 West Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Homer
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Very cozy in serene environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family has very pleasant memory of Driftwood Inn, where we stayed for two nights in July. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and are to provide great recommendations for dining and other activities. The steak restaurant across the street is superb, especially when they have the popular Alaskan singer Hobo Jim performing. The rooms are amazingly clean. The view in the area is like those in the book, and I would suggest not to miss a morning walk in the neighborhood. Before I went I thought a place like Homer would be highly commercialized, I was totally wrong. Don't miss Homer while you are in Alaska, and certainly staying at Driftwood will be a bonus. In case you don't know, drop by the Russian River Falls at Cooper Landing, where you may view brown and/or black bears snatch salmon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    139
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
150
156
36
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed towards the end of July 2012 in one of the Shipsquarter rooms. When the website says that "These rooms are small", the rooms are indeed tiny. Yes, it was a bit of a squeeze for my wife and me. But kudos to the Driftwood Inn for managing expectations, so that we were not expecting anything too much. And so, the Driftwood Inn delivered pretty much on all fronts. If I recall correctly, the wifi in the rooms worked well too.

We had a streetside room and was not at all bothered by any noise, since the Drifwood Inn was located off the main Homer highway. One plus is that the Driftwood Inn is well within walking distance to the Mermaid Cafe - which is a fabulous restaurant in Homer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were very impressed with the cleanliness and friendly staff! We stayed in our RV at one of their awesome sites with an incredible view! We booked a full day fishing charter with Capt. Shane which was hands down the best part of our family vacation! He knows where the fish are! We did not have a car and their fantastic staff went out of their way to give us a ride to and from the charter. Thanks for being such a great part of our family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in one of the (tiny) "ship's quarters" rooms. There were two of us, suited us fine for two nights, kept our costs down. There are a variety of rooms available, next time maybe we'd opt to spend a little bit more for a bigger room! Staff were very friendly and helpful, and it was great to have the coin-op laundry right there, as well as fish cleaning station, and freezer space available. Great location, too! We loved Homer, do hope to go back, and will definitely look into staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRica5
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in August. We stayed in the newer building to the side, seems to be a converted home, we had two rooms. It's was a communal feel but very comfortable. Great views, nice big yard with deck. Clean inside the rooms , helpful staff. Close to food and some shopping, the spit is maybe a 7 minute drive maximum.
I would stay again in the newer building.

Room Tip: 2nd floor of newer building has great views for beach facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

got in late and had to leave early for fishing. everything was very comfortable and the staff very helpful as we had to leave a lot of our bags and equip in their storeroom and it all worked out great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, North Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Three of us stayed here in July of 2012 for several days, while we enjoyed some halibut fishing out of Homer. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the hotel is only a short walk from the beach. The local scenery is very nice. A bald eagle perched on a neighboring home several times daily. Excellent restaurants are very close. The rooms are in need of renovation at some point, but were adequate and very clean. Our room had a bunk bed and another bed, which was perfect for our small group. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Address: 135 West Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.