We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Alaska!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homer Spit

Homer Spit
Homer, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Fishing, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow, five-mile long gravel path protruding into the Kachemak Bay is a popular spot for camping, beach-combing and halibut and salmon fishing. Springtime visitors can watch eagles flock to the beach to feed on fish.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Real Alaska!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Homer is our favorite place in Alaska. If we had to choose between Homer and Seward, Homer wins! The spit is real Alaska with the Salty Dawg Saloon, the fish hanging at the pier, quaint shops, and watching the fishermen clean the catch of the day! It is beautiful and the drive up the hill around Homer is amazing with unbelievable views of the spit.The fresh Halibut is the best. We also saw Eagles in some trees just before the Spit. Had breakfast in Homer and moose were right by the restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    131
    48
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lots of fun during the season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We usually go to Homer in September, when it is more quiet, however it is a must place to visit. There is an interesting fishing hole there and even if you are not fishing it is fun just to watch others as they try there luck at the sport. Just to watch the excitement when they get thier catch is fun. There is a place there to clean your fish and have it packed to send it home. There are alot of restaurants on the spit, many serving the specialty of the spit, halibut. People walk their dogs and others pitch a tent on the beach. Of course there are many boats in port, mostly fishing boats. There is company will take you to Seldovia. It is also a port for the Alaska Marine Highway ferry boats that take you to Seldovia, Kodiak or to the Aluetian Islands. A great fun place to spend some time while in Homer

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolaqueen
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Cool place to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

It feels like your at the end of the world here.. beautiful drive to get here and cool shops around but not good for camping. A lot of people were camping but in a tent, there is no protection at all. It is literally a little spit of land surrounded by water so it was quite windy. I personally prefer camping in the woods.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Has some interest but not worth the long drive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The best thing about the Spit, and all of Homer, is the great setting on the Cook inlet surrounded by mountains. The spit itself is pretty tacky... a lot of gift shops & a ton of RVs. It looks like a trailer park. The salty Dog Saloon is worth a visit but not much else unless you come for the fishing which I understand is great. But it's a long, uninteresting drive & not worth it if you're just a sightseer.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Time Out Charters - The Best Halibut Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Captain Dave of Time Out Charters was great - he was very friendly and we enjoyed getting to know him and of course the halibut fishing. Even though the weather wasn't great - he did his best to make our trip successful and fun. It was both! We brought home plenty of halibut and had a great time in the process. Spit Sisters lunches were great too. I would definitely recommend Captain Dave at Time Out Charters over any of the "bigger" guys.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homer Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homer Spit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.