We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stop overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beluga Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Beluga Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beluga Lake Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   204 Ocean Drive Loop, Homer, AK 99603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Homer
Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stop overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for a quick overnight trip. All we wanted was a basic room and a shower and this place was just fine. The room was on the small size, but the queen bed was comfy and the towels were fluffy. The front desk staff was helpful. This is one of only a few pet friendly places in Homer. We also were greatful for access to a washer and dryer - quarters and detergent available at the front desk. We were there before the "summer season" so we were offered a continental breakfast in the restaurant as part of our room price. They had coffee, tea, juice, 2 different cereals, bagels, toast, cream cheese, peanut butter, hard boiled eggs and yogurt. It was a better continental spread then many other places we have stayed on the Kenai Peninsula. The little restaurant seemed nice and we were sorry we were too early for them to be open for the summer.
At first the place feels a little old, and the hallways are a bit dark, but it also feels a lot like places we have stayed in Europe, with an older world feel. There are also nice grounds for a picnic around the building and a pretty view.

Room Tip: First floor on the north side of the building (odd # rooms) are half under ground so your view is of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
20
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Terrible customer service, the one woman who was there majority of time was no help at all.. seemed as though I was just a hassle/burden to her. Rooms are small and extremely NOISY if you have other guests beside or above you. Also the cleanliness was poor, found several hairs throughout room when first checked-in. Just an overall bad experience

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

They have a wonderful salad bar and the burgers are huge and tasty.

Rooms are quiet and affordable and there is always fresh hot coffee day or night.

NICE LITTLE LAUNDRY ON SITE ALSO. I STAYED FOR 3 WEEKS.

SHEILA HIGGINS

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Very disappointed. Hotel smelled like bleach; our view was a rick retaining wall about three feet away. Give yourself an additional hour and find a place once you arrive. Many very good options with great views

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Stayed here as very close to float planes service we took. Stayed 2-nites. Basic accomodations which works if not staying in room much. A little pricey, but then they have a short tourist season so that was to be expected. Bar is small but the did have Black Butte Porter on tap (great!!). Breakfast very disappointing with cerial, oatmeal, bread you can toast and hard boiled eggs. All the juice and coffe you can drink also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The room itself (2nd floor) was clean, spacious, had a comfortable bed. The staff was very nice. The price was reasonable. Unfortunately, the other reviews are correct. There is absolutely no soundproofing in the walls. So, if they are talking in the next room, you can hear EVERY word and it sounds like they're right next to your bed. This may not be a problem if those in the room next to you go to bed by midnight. Unfortunately, the guests next to us partied late into the night, came home around 1- 2 in the morning, talked and showered for another 2 hours. We heard every word of their conversations and laughter. It sounded like they were standing next to my bed. I know nothing about building construction, so I don't know if there is even anything you can do to make an existing building more soundproof. One night there was a truck spinning around the gravel lot doing donuts in the middle of the night, the truck then parked right outside my window, the men got out and peed, then sat there with the engine running for at least an hour. Fortunately, I found some ear plugs and was able to get back to sleep eventually.

So, if you are a heavy sleeper and aren't bothered by noise, you should be fine. Bring earplugs if you aren't.

I did get a NICE handwritten letter from the staff after they read the comment card I filled out. Apparently, there is an extension you can call to report noisy guests, etc. Somehow I didn't see that, and it was my understanding that the office was closed at 10 p.m. Had I known that, it might have helped for our second night. The management did promise to forward to the Homer PD the license plate info of the vehicle that was screeching around the parking lot and doing weird things so they couldn't come back. That's a relief.

So the management, as much as they could, did try to rectify the situation. The truth remains, the walls are paper thin, and if you get loud neighbors, you just won't be getting much sleep. It's a shame too, because the room itself was nice and clean, the location was nice, and the staff are nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The property is very close to the Split and is conveniently located. The decor is clearly updated and the rooms are quite small but clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beluga Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga Lake Lodge

Address: 204 Ocean Drive Loop, Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beluga Lake Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Beluga Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beluga Lake Hotel Homer
Beluga Lake Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beluga Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.