We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good for the Homer Area at the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Inn Homer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pioneer Inn Homer to your Saves list
Pioneer Inn Homer
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   244 W Pioneer Ave, P.O. Box 1430, Homer, AK 99603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Homer B&B and Inns
Sycamore, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quite good for the Homer Area at the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed on the second floor this past week. It was a comfortable stay in a large space. It had the largest space of any room we had in our 12 days in Alaska. It also had a kitchen and the ability to cook your own meals. It was very difficult to find a place in Alaska with oatmeal that was not instant. We were able to make it ourselves here. Also, Owner Rich recommended Captain Patties for dinner. They had the best Halibut I have ever had. He even called around town to see if he could find a place serving silver salmon that were just beginning to run. I think you have to compare it to what is available in the area at the price. This, in my opinion, was a good value and a very comfortable facility. We paid more for comparable quality in the Denali area and they did not have a kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our stay at the Pioneer Inn Guest House was by far our best accommodations in Alaska (July 2012) Spacious, comfortable and amazing view from master bedroom. Owners were friendly and gave excellent dinner recommendations. Would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Can
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm not here to be negative. Great view out the window. The mountains at sunset, gorgeous. The room was dated. It.s family owned I guess. What I'm trying to say is, would I stay here again...probably not. Unless nothing else was available. Stay on first level unless you have small travel bags, no elevator. On a scale of one to ten, I would rate it a 5. It works but you wonder who has slept here the night before, and the last time they changed the linen.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Lots of b&b in the area. For the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fetterhoff, Owner at Pioneer Inn Homer, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Goodness, I guess I have to wonder if you stayed at the same place too.... Please review our AAA ratings as well as guest ratings over the last 20 years for cleanliness. Pioneer Inn is indeed a family owned business, the property is older built in the late 60's but carpet, paint and fixtures are continually updated. We have no plans to install an elevator in a seven unit building with three units on the second floor and have never seen a property of similar size with an elevator. Our website clearly shows the building as two story. We are more than happy to help with bags even if you are a well conditioned kayaker.... Please accept our apologies but yes, there is a larger national chain hotel here in Homer that would be more appropriate for you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed at the Pioneer Inn for two nights as part of my Alaska trip in August 2012. Comfortable accommodation within walking distance to the restaurants in downtown homer. Recommended. I will stay there again if I’m ever back in Homer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a nice, clean place. Beautiful views of the bay right from our window!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Alaska is expensive. We could only hope that the Pioneer Inn was OK. When we arrived, Amy, the owner, took one look at this elderly couple who could hardly walk after the long drive to Homer form Anchorage and apologized that we had been given a second story room. (No elevator.) She asked if we would prefer a smaller room downstairs, and that she would take our luggage upstairs if we wanted that room. The upstairs room had a kitchenette, which we did not need, and the downstairs had a view of the bay, which was lovely. We chose the smaller room. She said it had been promised to a couple who come every year and use that room, but that they would understand. And as we were only staying two nights, it would be O.K. It was clean and comfortable, within walking distance of a AAA recommended restaurant, and the owners were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Amy and Rich were extremely accomodating when we had a last minute change of plans. Great little inn close to center of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pioneer Inn Homer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Inn Homer

Address: 244 W Pioneer Ave, P.O. Box 1430, Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Inn Homer 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family owned hotel in downtown Homer is in one of the most convenient locations in town. Located next to the award-winning Pratt museum, you can walk to some of Homer's best restaurants. Most rooms have views of the bay and glaciers. All units have full baths, cable TV, wifi and in-room coffee. Kitchenettes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pioneer Inn Homer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Inn Homer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.