We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seldovia Bay Ferry

Seldovia Bay Ferry
Lot 21 - Freight Dock Road System 6, Dock JJ - Homer Small Boat Harbor, Homer, AK 99603
(877) 703-3779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 attractions in Homer
Type: Ferries/ Boats
Attraction Details
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Enjoyed the ferry, the crew and seldovia. Well worth themoney. Seldovia quite interezting. Ferry over and back a very pleasant experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seldovia Bay Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A beautiful ride across the bay. Seldovia is a place all of its own. Make sure to walk what they call the Old Town first. You can find sea glass on a few of the beaches.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you can't get on this ferry...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Although we have experienced the Seldovia Ferry and meal (dinner) in the past (highly recommended), they were sold out during this most recent visit. So, we went to one of the other charter/ferry companies (there are many) and chartered one of their aluminum transport boats to take us around the Kachemak Bay for a few hours. The day was just too beautiful not to get out on the water. It wasn't luxurious, but we had a great time. We say otters, a sea lion, eagles (many), goats on the mountain over in Sadie Cove, dolphins, some remote houses/cabins, and lots and lots of birds. We were charged $60 pp... a deal for our adventure!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seldovia, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kachemak Voyager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great crew, wonderful ride between Homer and Seldovia. Whales, wildlife and birds. Enjoyed taking alternate boat than plane or AK marine ferry.
Free coffee and tea.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ferry & Fly - great way visit Seldovia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The derry ride to Seldovia is wonderful. We saw tons of birds, some otters and spotted a whale at one time. Soldovia is a neat native village. We were pleasantly surprised by the chainsaw wood carving structures. Very cute. We took the ferry to Seldovia, but did not want to come back too soon....wanted to enjoy a hike near McDonald Spit Beach. We are very happy that the Ferry staff suggested to fly back with Homer Air. It was a great option, we flew back in just 15 minutes. What a great way to see both Seldovia city, harbor, lagoon, McDonald Spit and Homer Spit from air. It was stunning. Highly recommend the combo ferry to Seldovia + Flight back to Homer, or vice versa.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seldovia Bay Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seldovia Bay Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seldovia Bay Ferry to your Saves list