We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear hunt / Fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ninilchik Charters - Day Tours

Ninilchik Charters - Day Tours
15750 Kingsley rd, Homer, AK
+1 800-973-4742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 47 Activities in Homer
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We operate nine boats on the Kenai Peninsula out of Seward,Kenai River,Kasilof River,Homer and Ninilchik were our main office is located,we have four cabins on site as well as fish processing and shipping.We started our business 20 years ago with one boat, we now fish about 70 people a day and have accommodation for 16 in our cabin. Come let us show you our Alaska.
1 review
“Bear hunt / Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

They provided a transporter service on a recent bear hunt. Boat was big and clean. Food was awesome and Capt. Al and mate Tyler were a pleasure to have with us. Lots of fun and great company. I recommend!
We are booking another trip to go again with them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
“A Great Time With Ninilchik Charters(Twice)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family and I visited Alaska during the summers of 2011 and 2012. In 2011, we rented a motorhome and drove 1200 miles from Anchorage to Denali, Seward, and Homer. Fishing wasn't the priority on this trip, but it was definitely in the plan. Mike Flores, the owner of Ninilchik Charters, had arranged for us to take a float plane trip to a remote lake to fish for Silver Salmon. We made some low passes over a huge glacier on our flight to the lake, and each caught our limit of 6-10lb Silvers. Very memorable! We also took a Halibut trip with Ninilchik Charters out of Deep Creek near Ninilchik, and again caught our limits. Our largest fish were 72 and 65 pounds. A lot of work to get them in the boat but worth it.

In July 2012, we returned to Alaska...this time to fish. We fished in Seward for Silver Salmon Sockeye on the Kenai, and took halibut trips out of Homer and Deep Creek. We caught our limit everyday and had a great time. The Guides are knowlegable and enthusiastic, and do their best to accomodate everyone on the boat.

Ninilchik Charters is a family run business. Mike and Cathy, their boys, and their staff, are all very attentive and work extremely hard to make sure their guests are treated well and are successful. They run bigger boats out of Seward and Homer, smaller, faster boats out of Deep Creek(Ninilchik), and power and drift boats on the Kenai and Kasilof rivers.

When we were done fishing, all of our fish were cleaned, packaged and frozen in vacuum sealed bags, and placed in styrofoam insulated boxes for the flight home.

I highly recommend that you give Ninilchik Charters a call when you want to fish in Alaska.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A day on the Sea in search of Halibut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

An amazing day trip with an excellent Captain who knows where the fish are. Be prepared to be tired after fishing the 200 foot depths (The halibut are bottom feeders) with a 5 pound "sinker". After (or before) the fishing trip make sure you tour historic Ninilchik and especially stop down at the beach to view the hundreds of Bald Eagles which make the Ninilchik shores and wetlands home. We visited Ninilchik in Early July 2012

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A Fun Alaska Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I took a day halibut fishing trip Ninilchik Charters in July 2012. Since neither of us had ever been fishing in Alaska before this was a new and interesting experience. We did not catch any very large halibut, but we did catch our limit. The largest fish caught being ~20lbs, not big as far as halibut go, but it was about 19.5 lbs bigger than any fish we had caught in the past. All in all it was a good experience we both enjoyed. A few more details.

We took a fishing charter out of Nanilchik, not Homer. What this means is that you will not board the boat in a traditional harbor, but you board the boat by a ladder while on the trailer and then the boat is launched into the surf by a large tracker. Not the traditional start to a day fishing, but interesting at least. By launching out of Nanilchik you will also travel on one of their small boats with only 6 fisher people per boat with one captain.

The day we went was fairly rough while traveling out to the fishing area (~20 miles out) so if you are prone to seasickness take medicine or you may pay the price by being sick all day. Once out to the fishing area it did calm down a bit, but was never really calm. Also, the smaller boats do not have seats to sit in while fishing, so it was difficult to stand or sit on the rail and fish while the boat was moving. It would not be difficult to fall overboard.

The fishing was ok; our guide was very nice and helpful. He never once got upset because someone did not know how to fish well or that people tangled his or her lines. One negative of the trip was that the captain tried to only have 4 out of 6 people fish at a time (to prevent tangles). This was sort of awkward since we all paid a lot of money to fish and he was asking people not to fish. He was however nice about it and let everyone who wanted to fish fish. Fishing out of Nanilchik is very much driven by the tides. On our day we had a small window in which we were told we had a chance to catch a bigger fish. None were caught. We then spent the next several hours moving to places where we were able to catch our limit of smaller fish.

On return the boat is driven up onto the trailer that the tractor had backed into the water. Again a very different experience.

Once back to the company office pictures were taken with the fish and then the captain fillet everyone’s fish to prepare to take or ship home.

Our day started at 6:30 and we were on our way by about 3:00 PM.

Cost. The total cost for a day of fishing including a tip for the captain was ~$250 per person. Preparation and shipment of our fish to the lower 48 was ~$100. We only caught small fish, so if you do catch larger fish, be prepared for a big shipping bill if you can't take it with you. Our total cost was ~$600. For us a new experience so it was worth it, you be the judge for yourself.

Notes:
The company provides no food so bring your own.

Bathroom facilities. The boat had a small toilet seat about the size of a kids potty-chair tucked inside the bow of the boat. It is very difficult to squeeze into the space and sit on the very small seat while the boat is moving up and down. I am a larger guy and it was very difficult to use (would have made a good scene in a comedy movie). My best advice would be to make sure you don't have to use the facilities the entire day by not drinking etc. If you can't do this, then be prepared for a new experience.

The people in our group were all good-natured people; if you ended up in a group with some abrasive people it could be a long day. Luck of the draw I guess.

All in all a good fun Alaska experience. If in the area again don't know if were would choose fishing here or take a traditional charter out of the actual ports of Homer or Seward??

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Did not honor coupon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

3 months ago While planning a fishing trip to ALASKA with my grandson & wife,and after looking on line I called a few places about a Halibut trip for grandson & I,and then called Ninichik Charters, while talking w/Ninilchik charter service I told the woman the only thing we could afford was 1 fishing trip. She responed that "this year we have a special coupon offer- pay for 1 full fare the other person goes for free" "we have 2 coupons- 1 for Halibut trip- 1 for Salmon on Kasilof or Kenai" and the coupons were in a coupon book that have special offers for Alaskan visit. cost aprox. $100 for book. We bought the book of coupons and called Ninilchik Charter company back and booked a halibut trip & salmon trip for 2 people and paid 1/2 of each. The day before halibut trip we went to their office and paid the balance for both trips and gave her our cell # as we were in motor home. Went on the halibut trip caught 2 apiece,trip went fine. Went back to office to make arrangements for salmon trip woman said to go buy salmon stamps [which we did for $20.] and meet guide at river 4am next morning.We arrived at river 3:45am waited to 4:15 no guide. there was another guide there waiting for his clients, he said he knew the guide that was to take us so he called him for us.The guide told me that the owner of Ninilchik charters had called him the night before and said to cancell the trip because he couldn't get any more clients to go with us and we had paid with coupon and it wasn't worth it for him. Our cell phone was on for our hole trip [2 weeks] No Phone calls from Ninilchik charters no nothing just left us waiting at the river. In the coupon offer it has no conditions for cancallation. We lost the day of vacation plus disappointment of grandson.I'll bet this is not the first time that they have done this.I am back home now and no messages here [they had this # for months] One very nice thing that happened was the guide that had called our guide [after finding out that Ninilchik had cancelled the trip offered to take us on his boat as there was room for 2 people.I thanked him but said the man and his wife that he already had in his boat expected to be by themselves and I couldn't do that to them.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinilchikCharters, Owner at Ninilchik Charters - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We are sorry Bob that your trip turned out bad,The number on file was your office number and we did call twice to discuss your trip with no response.We did offered Bob a free Lodging and Fishing trip for his inconvenience,Sincerely Mike Flores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninilchik Charters - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ninilchik Charters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninilchik Charters - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.