We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience if you do your research” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bald Mountain Air Service

Bald Mountain Air Service
Spit Road, Homer, AK 99603
800-478-7969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 44 Activities in Homer
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great experience if you do your research”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

As the variable reviews will tell you, bear viewing is more rewarding during the salmon run. Though the salmon were curiously missing during our trip out to Brooks Falls, the bears were nonetheless in and out of the river, catching what they could. The viewing platforms were crowded (we went in the first week of July), and park rangers played maitre d', cycling visitors on and off the platform so everybody got a good look. We still felt like we got a quality experience, and the chance to see bears *very* close, that we could not have had elsewhere.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bald Mountain Air Bear tour was AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband and I recently went on a bear flight tour to Katmai with Bald Mountain Air. I cannot praise this company enough. Bill and his co-pilot (sorry cannot recall his name) were so funny, informative and professional. Safety and the wellfare of the guests,animals and environment definitely came first! Thank you for making our trip to
Alaska so memorable!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Guaranteed Bears!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

First of all, we saw over a dozen bears! It was amazing feeling safe, yet relatively close to these massive animals. There were a couple things we were not adequately prepared for: regular bug spray is NOT going to cut it. There are times when you will have to remain still (not including the viewing platforms) and the bugs-Mosquitos, flies, and gnats-will literally be swarming around in thick clouds. We had bug dope on but it was like we had nothing! It is not bad while you are moving, but watch out if you are held up on the trail or bridge. The second thing is I got this company confused with another-- I thought they provided heavy duty rain gear if the rain was a down pour, but they don't; so make sure you are prepared. We were lucky and it turned into a nice day at the Books Range even though it was supposed to rain. Overall, it was magical viewing the bears in their natural habitat!!!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spend Less and Time it Good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

If you wish to re-live your adventurous Cub Scout field trip to gather in a circle and listen to stories, this trip is for you. Oh yea, throw in a few grazing bears.

Mistakingly, I thought I was going to watch grizzly bears chase salmon at Brooks Falls, but not this trip. It is June 23, a week or so before the salmon reach the falls. I should have contacted the fish's travel agent first. More verbal information on this topic would have assisted my vacation planning, but not Bald Mountain Air, since their considerations are bottom line only.

On this trip, these capable, and very knowledgable pilots will fly over some nice scenery, and land in a cool spot, where you will then be hand-held approximately 3/4 miles to sit down, all day, to view bears feeding on grasses, and in our case a couple were mating. 1 must have been grazing on Viagra.

Within 1 hour, 1 guest was snoring, most gathered around the pilot for storytime, and I cleaned out my inbox on my Android which I packed for photos only. There were several hours left, and a fruitless walk to view wolves seen once in the past, did manage to kill some time, which was required for the tide to return, in order for the plane to take off for our anxious return.

$650 buys several fishing days, or several day cruises and I was lucky enough to do 1 of each on my visit to Alaska, and individually are worth 2 to 3 times this bear viewing trip. Or, you could spend 1/2 as much on a fly-in bear viewing out of Soldotna where you are put in a boat to fish for the same salmon the bear’s fish for.

Now I know, and wish to share with you, that the activities on my next trip to Alaska will not include Bald Mountain Air. I felt like a victim of the "Fly In" phenom as if expense should not be factored in. Spend your money somewhere else.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous! We could NOT have had a better experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

This was the highlight of our three week vacation in Alaska! From Ginger, in the Bald Mountain office, to Eric, our pilot/guide and Tony, his co-pilot - these people were great. So friendly and informative. We got good instructions before we took off on the plane and had a wonderful scenic overview of Homer and the surrounding mountains and glaciers as we approached Geographic Harbor an hour or so away. The landing on the water was as smooth as silk and the bears were there to greet us! We were transported to the shore by a sturdy little "landing craft" and we followed Eric as he led us to an area where we could see bears from a distance. Pretty soon he pointed and said "Okay, now we'll walk over there and sit by that stream and watch the bears." And that's just what we did! We were in the middle of bears... Big bears, Little bears, Mama bear and Baby bear... All of them catching salmon as fast as they could and paying no attention to us whatsoever! It was amazing!! We didn't feel one second of fearfulness about ANY of the bears around us, and one of them even came as close as about 18 feet away! We sat there for about four hours and it seemed like only a few minutes!
This was an incredible experience and if you're wanting to see bears, we would most definitely recommend Bald Mountain Air! Thank you Eric for being such a great guide!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bald Mountain Air Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bald Mountain Air Service, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.