We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Our Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skookum Charters - CLOSED

Skookum Charters
Homer Spit Road, Slip J-12, Homer, AK 99603
907-360-2319
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with king and silver salmon fishing, retired newspaper photographer and author Jim Lavrakas offers a "Photo Safari" aboard his 27-foot "Skookum", roaming Kachemak Bay in search of your perfect photo. I'm looking forward to being your photography "coach"! Logbook: Leave the Homer dock 9 a.m., head to Gull Island bird rookery near Halibut Cove for seabirds including puffins and cormorants. Then tour the south side of Kachemak Bay in search of marine animals like Dall's porpoises, sea otters, orca (killer) and humpback whales. Many opportunities to see and photograph bald eagles. Occasionally we'll see black bears. Return to Homer by 3 p.m. One rate for the entire boat: $650 plus Sales Tax/ 1-6 persons / 5 hours
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of Our Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Wonderful combination tour. Fishing, sightseeing, incredible wildlife viewing and a great meal. Jim is a terrific captain. He knows where to find the fish and wildlife. He is also a professional photographer and he shared some valuable tips that greatly improved our photography. He also shares his intimate knowledge of the gorgeous Kachemak Bay while touring in his new, unique, comfortable and very safe boat. The meal at his private Galley was wonderful. It was delicious and filling. My husband loved the fresh fish in his bouillabaisee and since I do not eat fish, they fixed mine without it and it was great. The Galley is located on their private property that is accessible by water only. The setting is outstanding with gorgeous views in all directions. We saw and photographed eagles, sea otters and a whale. Jim is a friendly, personable, and has a good sense of humor which made the trip a lot of fun. We highly recommend the "Feast From The Sea Tour". This was our second trip on the F/V Skookum (Sept. 2010 and May 2011) and when we visit Alaska again, we will definitely book another outing with Jim. Both tours were outstanding and Jim's hospitality is unmatched.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great All-in-One Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We went on the Feast From The Sea tour while we were in Homer, AK this May. I loved the variety of the experiences we had in one day! We did some fishing, some eating, and took lots of pictures while always being surrounded by amazing scenery. Personally, I love to fish, but I do not eat fish. The meal at the Galley was prepared for me without fish and it was wonderful! The boat is very comfortable, Jim is a riot, the Galley and food are wonderful.

The scenery and the wildlife are amazing! Check out a few of the eagle and sea otter pictures we took while on the tour!

I highly recommend the Feast From The Sea tour because it provides something for everyone.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great photo safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We hired Jim to spend the day roaming around Kachemak Bay, seeing the scenery and the wildlife and getting some coaching on photography. We had a great time, and took a ton of pictures. The highlight was getting shots of a bald eagle swooping down to grab a fish. Also, getting a few puffins out by Gull Island.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz Creek, Alaska
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great for Couples and/or Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The is not a traditional fishing trip. This trip can be enjoyed by the whole family as well as couples. You will get to fish, see wildlife, go ashore, and then enjoy your catch as well as take home the excess fish. Even if you don't want to fish, others in your party can and you ALL will enjoy the trip. Jim is a very capable and personable captain, and tends to all your needs. The meal is served in one of the most gorgeous spots on earth.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Feast from the Sea in Little Tutka Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

A great time was had by all and the weather in little Tutka Bay was perfect. The highlight of dining on our "feast from the sea" prepared by Aspen was most enjoyable. Thanks, Captain Jim, for showing us a good time.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skookum Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.