We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Catch Cafe

Fresh Catch Cafe
4025 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603
907-235-2289
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 58 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casual, upscale dining located on the world famous Homer Spit. We feature a wide variety of the freshest seafood and steak around. All of our ingredients are locally grown to bring you a true Alaskan culinary adventure. Our beer and wine selection have been specially chosen to enhance each meal.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came bearing our own Halibut. And when the waitress asked how we wanted our fish prepared we took her suggestion and told the chef to do whatever he wanted. So good. (and the berry crumble for dessert was also excellent). Since it was so good, we went back the next night with our salmon catch. Again, the food was fantastic. We told the waitress that since the food had been so good the previous night, that the chef could do whatever he wanted, but that we wanted to try something new this time, and, since we had been traveling for a while, we didn't want anything friend, so the chef made one dish a super simple version of salmon and greens and the other was a take on the red curry dish that's on the menu (which was great).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    16
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Halibut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Heard they had excellent Halibut Fish and Chips.

I asked the waiter if I could get more fish than was on the normal order. Had to ask the owner. No problem! They made me an order and a half of their delicious Halibut.

Waiter was doubting if I could finish it. Ha!

Really excellent in my book. Great view and good service. Nice beer selection. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Another Gluten Free Friendly Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

If you read anything I write you know I am GF! Hate it but I have to be. The chef and co-owner of this ace used to cook for a Celiac family and he knows his stuff. The staff is fantastic and the food is to die for. Anytime we have guests here in Homer the first place we take them is here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Halibut!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our third try at ordering halibut fish and chips in Homer and this by far was the best! We also enjoyed the salmon halibut linguini and the fish tacos, all very fresh. Service was good with a nice view!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmons, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Just finished lunch with husband. He had fish tacos and I had Halibut fish and chips. Both truly enjoyed the quality and freshness of the fish they serve. Will stop again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Catch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Catch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.