We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fabulous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Catch Cafe

Fresh Catch Cafe
4025 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603
907-235-2289
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Homer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casual, upscale dining located on the world famous Homer Spit. We feature a wide variety of the freshest seafood and steak around. All of our ingredients are locally grown to bring you a true Alaskan culinary adventure. Our beer and wine selection have been specially chosen to enhance each meal.
Littleton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food, fabulous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and didn't know what to expect but were delighted by the food. I had the curry stew that was to die for. The favors were amazing. We ended up returning again just because it was so good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    16
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Could have been great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were happy to find this place open when we arrived late and were looking for something light and quick, but were disappointed when they were out of the chowder and the soup of the day. We ordered Thai-inspired shrimp and duck soup at the suggestion of our cheery waiter, but were stunned it took 30 minutes to arrive. Halfway into that wait, the waiter apologized saying that the chef didn't like the way the duck had turned out and was doing it again; the waiter offered to buy us beers to make up for the wait. When it finally arrived, it was delicious -- full of shrimp, fresh vegetables, and perfectly prepared duck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in heaven. My only problem was that I could eat no more. The helpings were large and the flavoring was nuanced. I had the red curry fish stew with root vegetables, halibut and other ocean fish. It was a real treat. The brown rice was perfect with it. The fresh bread that was served at the table was wonderful and just right to soak up the creamy sauce. My husband had the hamburger that was "huge"! It was done just right and served with large steak fries. The bun was fresh made. My husband has a huge appetite and could not begin to finish it. A good selection of beers and wine. Please try this one. It was great. The chef really cares and it shows.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“world class dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

if you like fresh seafood beautifuly prepared and presented,give this place a try.I got a.mussel appetizer.best mussels I ever had.so delicate. so delicious. this chef knows his stuff. the sauce was not overwhelming,and the flavor of the mussels really came through

then it was on to the seared halibut over king crab Risotto.outstanding ! beautiful presentation. perfectly executed.

my partner got a dry aged Alaskan ribeye. really amazing beef
perfectly cooked as well

I will definitely go back next chance i get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place knows food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place knows food. The fish is always perfectly cooked. The sauces are to die for. The chef knows what he's doing. His specials are superb. If you order your burger cooked medium well, it comes medium well; if you order it medium rare, it comes medium rare. It's a bit spendy, but all good restaurants in Alaska are.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Catch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Catch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.