We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Catch Cafe

Fresh Catch Cafe
4025 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603
907-235-2289
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 58 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Casual, upscale dining located on the world famous Homer Spit. We feature a wide variety of the freshest seafood and steak around. All of our ingredients are locally grown to bring you a true Alaskan culinary adventure. Our beer and wine selection have been specially chosen to enhance each meal.
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

First it's on the spit, sits right next to the water, beautiful views. The food is excellent, service excellent, location unbelievable I would say the cook has got to be a chef not just a cook its that good and different don't miss it. your on the spit so yes its pricey but all restaurants are in Alaska but this one deserves to be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    16
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"Skip Captain Patties and come here"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Yes, we were debating on waiting 45 minutes to eat at Captain Patties, when a "local" told us about this place. We were so glad we came here. The ingredients were super fresh, the presentation was awesome, and they had a kids menu that satisfied. What I liked the most - the option to have your seafood grilled. Honestly, we were tired of fried food, so this hit the spot! The only problem was that we only got to eat here once! I wish we had tried it earlier during our stay, but we'll know for next time! Don't miss it while in Homer!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch on a locals recommendation. Service was great as was food. Lots of local beers, great afternoon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Locals sent us to this terrific place. The fish and chips were amazing. Our waitress was terrific. Loved the whole thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really the best meal I have ever had, really.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I am not a foodie, but when you start with perfect oysters, and I do not even like oysters, and end not being able to have desert, and I love desert, the dinner must have really been special. And it was. Harrison is really proud of the food he is serving in his little (maybe 8 tables?) restaurant, and it shows. Salad with bay shrimp was great and the dressing most unusual, but the seafood fettuccini with salmon, halibut and scallops was simply amazing. What else to say but suggest you start with a local beer and hope for a seat by the window.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Catch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Catch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.