We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Trophy Charters

Bob's Trophy Charters
Box 1775, Homer, AK 99603
1-800-770-6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 45 things to do in Homer
Type: Other
Attraction details
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a fun adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went out for the day on a salmon and halibut trip. There was some mix up with the fishing licenses and our original boat was being repaired so we had to be switched to a different one. But overall it was a good experience. The office staff were very nice and accommodating. The boat captain was competent but could have been nicer. I don't feel like he was as patient and "chummy" with the novice fisherman as he was the folks who had been on his trips several times before. We did catch lots of fish and the staff helped us easily figure out how to mail it back home to Georgia.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    7
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Liberty
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fishing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a great trip out for Halibut. Our whole party caught our limit. Crew was great to work with. They have really convenient deal with a local fish processor to help you freeze your catch if you so choose.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Modern Boats and Helpful Crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I joined one of "Bob's" half day Halibut trips early in September. We were blessed with perfectly blue and clear skies and traveled 26 miles out into the Cook Inlet. McKinnley was visible more then 300 miles away. Unfortunately winds were 25-30 knots and the boat (all 50 feet) was rocking. Fishing was slower than earlier in the year but the crewed worked hard to make sure everyone came home with their limit of Halibut.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun 1/2 day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went on a 1/2 day halibut trip with Bob's and immediately hooked up halibut when we dropped our lines. They were smaller fish (14-15 lbs), but we caught a pile of them. Hard working, fun crew. They made sure everyone caught their limit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Went on a 1/2 day charter with Bob's Trophy Charters. Stand up business and top class deckhands! Everyone caught their limit and the captain was quite helpful for beginners. Caught a halibut that was well over 50 lbs. Epic!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bob's Trophy Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Trophy Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.