We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Rosy Outlook B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Rosy Outlook B and B
5245 Thompson Drive, PO Box 2605, Homer, AK 99603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 45 Homer B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Rosy and Erless were fantastic hosts; the view lives up to its hype; their home is comfortable and, seriously, the bed was the best nights' sleep I had in three weeks of traveling. Rosy passed along some great information and gave me some great suggestions for my time in Homer. I cannot recommend ARO enough!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narvon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rosie has a piece of heaven that she shares with her guests. The Forget-Me-Not room was great but the wonderful view of Kachemak Bay and the garden flowers were simply superior to any place we have stayed. We had our lunch on the front yard deck while looking down at the Homer Spit; we could see snow-capped mountains across the bay and a huge glacier. Wow! Rosie and Erless are very likeable and very helpful hosts- we had quite a few laughs with them. Our breakfasts were both good and more than we could eat. We will stay at ARO B&B when we go back to Homer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quogue
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Rosy Outlook B & B is the best place to stay in Homer . The garden landscaping is beautiful, the accomodations were tastefull done, the view of the Homer spit a surrouding mountains is definately a Rosy Oulook and The best feature of this B & B are the the owners Rosie & Erless -- Truely Nice people -- You feel like part of the family for the stay.

Thanks for your Hospitality
Don & Lynn Van De Water, Long Island NY

Room Tip: Any room you can book is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had an exceptional stay at A Rosy Outlook B & B. Rosie and Erless were great hosts and were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was delicious and beautifuly presented. We liked our comfortable Forget-Me-Not room with all the special touches & private entrance. Rosy's flower gardens were simply gorgeous and they just went on and on. This B & B is on a hill and the view is magnificant with the gardens, the bay and the mountains. We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone and we only wish we could have stayed longer. Carol & Ray, Lancaster, PA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peasmoldtown
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Rosie is a charming host who pays attention to small details, and provides breakfasts prepared with love that are top of the range. The views over the bay are stunning, and Rosie and Erris' garden is simply lovely as a foreground. Although the location is a bit 'out of the way' Rosie supplied accurate driving directions that were easy to follow. My room (Forge- Me-Not, with private bathroom) was very comfortable, though there wasn't much space with such a big bed. It also has a virtually private entrance, which at least means you are not disturbed by others or vice versa, if arriving late. I spent 4 nights there, and Rosie cooked a quite different but equally delicious breakfast each day, paying attention to my comments and expectations. As a vegetarian I was very well catered for, and was made to feel almost like a member of the family. Rosie also gave very useful advice on what to do and see in Homer and the surroundings. I very strongly recommend this B&B, which is superb value for money. The only slight drawback is that it is quite far from town, which means you either have to drive (and not drink a drop), or else use taxis, which can be a bit pricey, e.g. 24 USD to the Spit. But the price of the accommodation is so reasonable, this is an acceptable extra to pay, if needed.

Room Tip: Forget-Me-Not was excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaskabnbkeeper, Owner at A Rosy Outlook B and B, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
A Rosy Outlook B&B is located a convenient 1.5 miles from downtown Homer.That is a bit far for most folks to walk but only a short drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's and this one has it all. The rooms are comfortable, the views of Homer and Kachemak Bay are spectacular, the garden is lovely, and breakfast is a special treat each day. Rosie and Erless are very accomodating hosts and also knowledgeable about the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, CT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Erless and Rosie were like family by day two. They are very accomodating and friendly. We felt at home camping out on their couch after a day of touring and visiting with them. They really incorporate you into the family so you feel like a friend instead of a guest.
The breakfasts were great and Rosie went out of her way to please in the kitchen. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I were going to Homer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Rosy Outlook B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Rosy Outlook B and B

Address: 5245 Thompson Drive, PO Box 2605, Homer, AK 99603
Location: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be awed by our spectacular views of snow capped mountains, glaciers, bay and the Homer Spit surrounded by lush flower gardens and decks. Enjoy a private room with comfy queen bed and bath. Two more guests may stay in over-flow room with two extra-long twin beds for $35 per person. Hearty, homecooked breakfasts featuring Alaskan products are our specialty. Quiet, secluded location 1.5 Miles from downtown. Easy access, only two steps up into to our homestay B&B ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Rosy Outlook B and B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Rosy Outlook B and B to your Saves list