We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Small Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt Museum

Pratt Museum
3779 Bartlett St, Homer, AK
907-235-8635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Attractions in Homer
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the area's wildlife and marine life at this art, cultural and natural history museum, where an added touch is the special camera setup allowing you to zoom in to view wildlife in the distance. Get an ecology lesson on a forest trail and identify wildflowers in the outdoor garden.
NV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love This Small Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Natural history, homesteaders, fishermen, Native Americans, etc, etc...this museum has tons of artifacts and great information about a wide range of topics. We found the staff to be friendly and the admission price well worth the investment. Do not miss this museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

we visited here while in homer and could not believe what an amazing museum this was. it appears tiny from outside but it is not. they carefully filled every inch with amazing displays and information. this museum could stand in any major city and be proud. make sure and take the time to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pratt Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A fantastic museum full of history and exhibits. It far exceeded our expectations. Make sure to give yourself at least a few hours to really absorb it all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“History of Homer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Friendly staff and first rate museum with historical and contemporary exhibits. Child and Senior rates.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took the off and on trolley bus from the Spit up to town while our husbands were out on a fishing charter. We went in a few shops and galleries and then walked up to the Pratt Museum. We started with a homesteaders cabin on the grounds and chatted with the guide. Then we visited the museum and learned about the history (natural and cultural) of the area. A pleasant way to get out of the unusual heat wave!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.