We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt Museum

Pratt Museum
3779 Bartlett St, Homer, AK
907-235-8635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Homer
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the area's wildlife and marine life at this art, cultural and natural history museum, where an added touch is the special camera setup allowing you to zoom in to view wildlife in the distance. Get an ecology lesson on a forest trail and identify wildflowers in the outdoor garden.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed the recorded interviews with the Homestead families of Homer. We especially enjoyed the interviews with the Kilcher Family members. There were so many interesting displays. This small museum was so much more interesting than most large city museums. We highly recommend that you make this a "must do list". Very reasonably priced too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pratt is a nice, clean, smart museum, very professionally done with exhibits on local marine life, culture, history. Worth a visit. Big and complete enough to be fun, not so big that it's overwhelming.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

There was so much to like. This was fascinating for both adults and children. The gift shop was reasonable and offered good values.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit in Homer Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Tucked away off of Pioneer Avenue the Pratt Museum is well worth a visit. We stopped in out of curiosity and wound up staying for over Two hours. They have an interactive group of exhibits that bring the Kenai peninsula into sharp focus. There were documentary style first person accounts of life for both native Alaskans and sourdoughs that can't help but move you and give you a real sense of what life is and was like for the people who call this area of Alaska their home. Stop in and you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A First-Class Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Pratt Museum and the homestead cabin next to it are first-rate, and I would recommend that all who visit Homer, AK, be sure to spend some time there. While the Pratt isn't a large museum, it's exhibits are excellent at telling the story of the early pioneers in AK and their interactions with the environment: plants, animals, and other cultures.

The exhibits dealing with the 1964 Earthquake, the Exxon-Valdez Disaster, and with the various challenges of living in our nation's "last frontier" are particularly poignant.

During our visit we were able to see the skeleton of a large whale that had gotten beached near Homer and which hadn't survived. It was quite a sight. The skeleton is on display for only a short time and will be removed until the Pratt finishes its move to a new building (next year, I believe).

I highly recommend a visit to this wonderful museum!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.