We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Above the Oil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt Museum

Pratt Museum
3779 Bartlett St, Homer, AK
907-235-8635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 45 things to do in Homer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the area's wildlife and marine life at this art, cultural and natural history museum, where an added touch is the special camera setup allowing you to zoom in to view wildlife in the distance. Get an ecology lesson on a forest trail and identify wildflowers in the outdoor garden.
Eagle River, Alaska
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Art Above the Oil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Upstairs (and out back) art is on display, downstairs a history of the Exxon Valdez Oil Spill is laid out. Very inspiring and educational.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York Beach, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped at the Pratt on our way out of town on our way to Seward. It is a small museum, but very informative. Clearly the people that run it truly love their state and their town. I would recommend a stop at the Pratt to anyone in Homer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of hours going through the Pratt museum. The history of the Homer area was presented in an engaging was with lots of interactive exhibits. Take a couple of hours to go through the museum at the beginning of your stay in Homer, and you will have a great bit of background information for a better understanding of this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Watch island birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The best part of this museum is the camera on a "bird only island" in the harbour. You can spend hours just working the camera in and out of the nests, bird antics, etc. Oh, the homesteader cabin set up is fun.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“History, Art, Science and Cultural Center of Kachemak Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having been in Pratt Museum more than once, I have never been ceased being amazed by the shows they put on. I was brought to tears when watching how the birds were struggling to survive the Oil Spill. Last summer, I was told a whale bone structure was in the making....finally the good news. The show "Encounters: Whales In Our Waters," will open on Feb. 1 2013. Bone expert Lee Post and Homer volunteers have put together the skeleton of a young male gray whale found floating dead in Halibut Cove Lagoon 13 years ago. It is said after it was towed to shore, museum staff and helpers butchered and cut out the skull, back, flippers and other bones. The bones were sunk in a crab pot near the lagoon to let marine critters nibble away at rotting flesh. Seven months later, the bones were hauled out, dirty and smelly, but less gross. Can't wait to see this with my own eyes.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.