We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting....but a little strange” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt Museum

Pratt Museum
3779 Bartlett St, Homer, AK
907-235-8635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 attractions in Homer
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Learn about the area's wildlife and marine life at this art, cultural and natural history museum, where an added touch is the special camera setup allowing you to zoom in to view wildlife in the distance. Get an ecology lesson on a forest trail and identify wildflowers in the outdoor garden.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting....but a little strange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The museum was empty when we went there in October, but it was very interesting. There are many drawers that, apparently, it is VERY important to open (according to the lady selling tickets). For a small museum it was well done and thought out, although some of the drawers in the animal room were a little creepy.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Regional Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Pratt Museum is a regional museum that it devoted to the areas around Homer. It covers the people, the wildlife, and interactions between the two very effectively. The museum has a number of really excellent electronic displays. it also has a very detailed section on the Exxon Valdez spill.

We spent several hours at the Pratt and I bought a really neat craft piece at the museum store. If you are into museums, you will like the Pratt.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“All Bases Covered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a beautiful place that covers Natural History, Native and Cultural History, Native animals, and art in none place! The staff was friendly, and the exhibits were great! I loved the cam on Gull Island! That was a treat!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice small town museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Found this museum nice and informative and had hands on things as well which is always nice. There is a garden out front with labels on all the plants which was nice and informative. I found it had alot of variety which was nice.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“rather dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Maybe I am used to New York museums, but this museum was nothing special to me. What bothered me was the man in the gift shop looked me over and out of the blue asked my mother if she had any grandchildren, as if that is the only question that matters. Look, I am an adopted only child, and I will never have children. Overpopulated world, you are welcome. Also, spent a fortune to enter a quilt drawing and didn't even win...oh well.....

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pratt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pratt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pratt Museum to your Saves list