We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Into the Wild” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile 4.0 Stampede Road, PO Box 89, Healy, AK 99743-0089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
End of Season Special
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Into the Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay in the unique cabins and it was special to know the owner, Jon, hand built all the cabins. Jon's slide presentation each night gave lots of good information about the area. Coffee and breakfast at Henry's was a treat and knowing it was named after their dog made it even better. Getting to hear and pet the Sled dogs was a really nice experience. The owners Jon and Karin really make you feel at home and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are actually individual cabins and all seemed quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
52
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A friend told us about Earthsong Lodge and we are so glad we were able to stay here! Jon and Karin are great hosts, responsive to needs and helpful in pointing us toward good ways to get the most out of our short visit to Denali. We loved the opportunity to meet and interact with the dogs. Jon's evening programs - photo journeys in and around the park - were a special treat and have us thinking about returning sometime in the winter for a dogsled trip! The cabin was very comfortable and homey, and the views of the mountains and peaceful surroundings gave us a taste of the spaciousness of Alaska. It was great to be away from the more congested lodging options right outside the park.We would like to return for a longer stay! Thank you Jon and Karin for your love of the land and for creating this unique space to share with others! We wish you all the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I, along with another couple, wanted to visit Denali following a cruise in June. When my friend said that she wanted to book here, I must admit that I was a little skeptical, but then thought: ok, adventure in Alaska, I'm in! Let me tell you: We stayed for 3 nights and it was a great experience! So much better than a hotel room in a touristy area. We had our own small cabin and it was very comfortable and all we needed. Our friends stayed in the cabin next to us. The surrounding area was uniquely beautiful and peaceful with views of the mountains and Alaskan wilderness. Jon was very helpful with suggestions about visiting Denali park and helping us book other activities like white-water rafting (another rewarding first-time adventure for me). Be sure to make time to visit his sled dogs in the morning and his slideshows in the evenings. Jon is a very interesting man with lots of stories to tell about his Alaskan wilderness adventures. Our stay at Earthsong Lodge truly enhanced our visit to Alaska and is something I will never forget! Thanks Jon and Karin! We wish you all the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The last thing you want to do when you visit Alaska is to stay in a standard, expensive hotel where you do not know if you are in Alaska unless you look out the window. To experience Alaska, stay in one of those lodges like the Earthsong Lodge which feature small, rustic cabins (it seems like everything is big in Alaska except the cabins). The Earthsong Lodge does have small cabins. They are clean and neat and make you feel like you are in an Alaska homestead. The lodge has a coffeehouse (Henry's) but was not open for dinner since the chef had left and the proprietors were trying to hire a new one. They did serve a limited menu for breakfast and lunch (prepared by the owner). What separates the Earthsong from other places are the owners who homesteaded in the area in the eighties. Jon is a musher and has 19 sled dogs. He gives sled dog excursions during the winter. His passion for his dogs and mushing is evident. Jon has a slide show that is presented in the evening. The show is good but could be cut in half without losing the message. What is most interesting at the show is the question and answer session with Jon. Jon and his wife epitomize the spirit of Alaska (and America) by building a successful business and a home from scratch. This is a great place to stay and serves as an excellent base for a stay in the Denali area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights in one of the family cabins! There were 4 of us and the cabin was adequate in size for all of us. Jon, the owner, was very hospitable and did everything to make our stay enjoyable! Definitely make time to see his slide shows each night as they are very informative. Breakfast at Henry's Coffeehouse was great to get a kick start to exploring for the day! The sun setting at midnight was incredible ... Did alot of research and feel EarthSong is the best choice for accommodations in the area .. and avoided the tour buses and crowds! Very quant and special place!

Room Tip: If you like to spread out and have space, rent a larger cabin ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accommodation was the first placed I booked on our 10 day trip to Alaska. It popped up in Lonely Planet with high recommendations and the reviews on this site also spoke highly of the place. Traveling with a family of 5 (3 teens) and this really was a good base to use when exploring Denali. We could make it to the Visitor's Center in the park in 30 minutes and loved being up on the tundra outside of the park. We had a 2 bedroom cabin which contained one trundle bed in addition to a pull out, so easily fit our family of 5. We arrived late the first night (Alaska has 20+ hours of daylight in June!), and Jon/Karen made our late night arrival very easy. We also attended the slide show one evening with Jon's Q&A session- he's extremely knowledgeable about all things Alaska and freely shares his knowledge. A definite family favorite all around- I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Earthsong Lodge is a special place to experience Alaska without sacrificing comfort & modern conveniences. Jon is so knowledgeable about the area, and is more than willing to share that knowledge and experience. Don't miss meeting the dogs every morning, and Jon's slide shows every evening. Henri's coffeehouse is a wonderful place to meet other travelers and share tips on Denali. We're already talking about returning in the fall or doing a multi-day sled dog adventure into the mountains in winter.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat

Address: Mile 4.0 Stampede Road, PO Box 89, Healy, AK 99743-0089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free daily sled dog kennel tours to guests. Evening slide programs. Divas of Denali Gift Shop, local crafts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earthsong Lodge - Denali`s Natural Retreat Hotel Healy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat to your Saves list