We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like putting on your favorite jeans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile 4.0 Stampede Road, PO Box 89, Healy, AK 99743-0089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
End of Season Special
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“like putting on your favorite jeans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

EarthSong is one of those places that after a long day you just melt into. From the wonderful cabins with the great red doors to the gorgeous flowers lovingly planted by Karin in every nook and corner. This home away from home welcomes you with comfort and great energy. Take a walk or just sit on your deck and take in the amazing outdoor scenery.

Rooms are delightful and very clean. Housekeeping does an outstanding job at keeping cottages in order. I was very impressed that one day a young man approached our cabin, introduced himself as our "go to guy" if the place was not in order. WOW!

Our stay was early in the season so restaurant was not up and running full steam. This said, if the delicious pie that we had is an indication of the rest of the food....I would have been all in! Great morning coffee as well (and this from a Seattle guy).

My entire Family found Jon and Karin (Sara) delightful and full of wonderful ideas for a great park visit. Jon took much time while we visited with the dogs to explain sledding and just share wonderful stories of his life and the adventures of his Family.

If your plans include Denali, make EarthSong part of your itinerary. It will add much to an already great place to adventure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earthsonglodge, Owner at EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
A review like this one makes all our hard work feel worthwhile. There's not much more I can say, except thank you to these and all our past and future guests who make EarthSong part of their Denali experience. Please keep coming...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
52
52
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Three of us travelled from London, England to hike the length of the Stampede Trail to the Sushana Bus (Into the Wild 'Magic Bus'). Even before we made the trip Jon and Karin had been very helpful in providing info and help via email and phonecalls which made booking and planing our trip so much easier.

We were warmly greeted on our arival to Earthsong Lodge, Jon and Karin could not have been more helpfull all the way through our stay, even providing us with bear spray and a machette to ward off the wild animals along our hike.

We loved our cabin (One of the three room cabins overlooking the mountains) so much that we stayed for two days longer than planned, just so we could sit out on the deck, drink some beer and enjoy the absolute tranquility and stunning view.

We are planning a return journey in 2014 and are very much looking forward to staying at Earthsong again, I cant wait to go back, everyone should experience the hospitality offered by the owners and the sheer beauty of the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice cabin all to myself. Beautiful area. Owners were extremely kind and accommodating. The attached coffee shot/restaurant was surprisingly good. Enjoyed the evening slide show. Didn't have time to visit the dogs, but would have enjoyed that too. Also did not realize until I'd left that Stampede trail is where "Into The Wild" takes place...adds an eeriness to it...but I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading many reviews we decided to stay here Sept 9-13. It was our first stop after a long drive from Anchorage. EarthSong is an incredible find off the beaten path. My wife and I were extremely happy with the surrounding area. The cabins are well kept, clean, warm, and what you would expect when thinking of Alaska. Jon is an excellent and understanding host. We stayed in the coastal cabin which had more than enough room for the two of us and all our travel and hiking gear. We ate at the coffee house which had great food. Jon even accomodated my wife's dietery needs. He understood what was needed and made us feel comfortable. His knowledge of Alaska and the National Park was like having a personal guide with us. He gave us ideas on what to do and where to hike in the park. Having his own dog sled team was special and the dogs were nice to listen to at night, not at all a problem. The views of the Alaskan range are by far a great front porch. We are already planning on returning and staying with Jon. There is no better place.

Room Tip: Added tip: give yourself a little extra time if you have an early bus trip into the park. especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at Earthsong Lodge a little earlier than check-in time, but Jon quickly came to the office and checked us in and advised that our cabin was ready. The place is pretty much exactly how it's depicted on the website and in reviews, but was somehow different from the vision I had. We walked the boardwalk to our cabin, and although we had a family cabin, it was smaller than we expected - although more than adequate for two people. We put our bags and clothes in one room and slept in the other. Had we not had that second bedroom I don't know where we would have put all of our bags. The shower was great and the cabin had pretty much everything we'd need. The first night we were there, we were both suffering from colds and had a hard time getting the place warmed up, but once we did, we were comfortable. It was extremely windy outside, so much that we didn't even want to go out! We did walk over to the coffee house for dinner, each had the spaghetti and meatballs. Was very good, but we thought $16.50 for spaghetti and meatballs might have been a bit overpriced. I realize we're in the middle of nowhere, but still. Enjoyed the slide show that Jon showed that night and had some coffee while watching. We got pack lunches for our Denali Park shuttle day the next day - they were very good, highly recommend. We were gone all day long that day, and then on check-out day we had to leave at 5:30am for an excursion scheduled 4 hours away in Talkeetna. So we didn't get to see the sled dogs or even meet Karin - I think if we had more time (and maybe felt better) we would have appreciated our stay much more. All in all, I'd recommend staying here, defintely beats the glitter gulch!

Room Tip: If you need to spread out or have a lot of baggage like we did, I'd definitely recommend the fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recommend this place to anyone visiting Denali or the surrounding area! The cabins are beautiful, clean and provide a great view. The owners go out of their way to assure your stay is the best in all ways. They also have a great cafe with excellent food. If you want a place that makes you feel at home, is laid back, quiet, beautiful, and provides a unique personal experience, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I eagerly arrived at Earthsong Lodge Aug 5th, after a night camping in the rain and a long drive, we were not disappointed! Upon check-in we were greeted by Karin, one of the owners. She was very informative and engaging, answering all our questions. The lodge really shows a pride of ownership- it is clean and well kept and the amount of detail that the owners spent on the outward and inward appearance is very evident. The cabin was perfect and we could tell that pride went into the décor. The cabin was clean, as well as the grounds. Henry’s Coffeehouse is right on the grounds and has a ton of Denali flavor to it. Jon, the other owner, greeted us there in a gracious manner. The food was amazing, I had the salmon, my girlfriend had the Panang – it was a surprise to have such a gourmet meal out in such a remote locale! There was a slideshow of Denali life after dinner, we saw a full sled dog team the next day-I could go on and on about the extraordinary experience we had but definitely want to make note that the Karin and Jon made the experience we had amazing . We will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat

Address: Mile 4.0 Stampede Road, PO Box 89, Healy, AK 99743-0089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free daily sled dog kennel tours to guests. Evening slide programs. Divas of Denali Gift Shop, local crafts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Earthsong Lodge - Denali`s Natural Retreat Hotel Healy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat to your Saves list