We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay on Your Next Visit to Denali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaskan Spruce Cabin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alaskan Spruce Cabin to your Saves list
Alaskan Spruce Cabin
P.O. Box 241, Healy, AK 99743   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay on Your Next Visit to Denali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently stayed for six nights. It is great to be able to escape the crowds of cruise passengers in Glitter Gulch. It's only 10-15 minutes north of the park entrance. Doug was a wonderful host, attentive and helpful, but not intrusive. The cabin was very clean, the wi-fi worked well, the bed was comfortable, and the amenities were very nice for the reasonable price. We plan to stay here again on our next trip to Denali.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Everything you read in the reviews is true. The cabins were terrific. We stayed 3 nights.
I did run out of hot water (once) at the end of a lengthy shower, and after my wife's shower - don't know if all 3 cabins run off of 1 hot water heater or not - really not that big a deal. The TV is indeed small - again, not that big a deal. All 3 cabins were occupied, but, we never saw anyone other than Doug. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All 3 cabins look to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Healy is 11 miles from the entrance to Denali NP. Alaskan Spruce cabins is easy to find, located in a very peaceful spot off Healy Spur Rd. there are 3 cabins, identical. Our name was on the cabin door when we arrived. There are 2 queen beds, firm mattresses. The cabin is sparsely decorated but comfortable with everything you need. Full kitchen, gas grill outside. The cabin is very clean. There is a diesel fueled space heater if needed. We did need it at night as it was in the low 40's. The cabin does not have room darkening curtains so best to be prepared with sleep masks. The bathroom is spacious with a stand alone shower. Plenty of linens.There is free wi-fi that works well.there is a large armoir with plenty of space for clothing storage.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: bring eye sleep masks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights. Super quiet and beautiful views. Wifi worked well.

I was a little surprised at the lack of blinds. With it being light all the time, the curtain didn't work great and in the bathroom there wasn't anything to block the sun. We had to keep the door closed at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

After a long, all-day drive to Healy / Denali from Anchorage, including a 4 hour "detour" to do some flight-seeing at Talkeetna, we arrived at Alaska Spruce Cabin to find everything in perfect order and the owner expecting our arrival. There was even the "nice touch" to see our name posted on the white-board on the front of our cabin.

Everything was great about the cabin -- clean, airy, well-kept, and lots of very nice touches: coffee for the coffee pot, a well-equipped kitchen, nice, comfortable, and clean beds, a hair dryer, clean sheets, a breakfast table, a great deck with chairs, etc. Plus, the cabin was very homey-looking, with spruce paneling and decor throughout -- very cozy yet rustic-appearing.

My son and I cannot say enough great things about the owner and his family. After our long trip, the owner Doug and his daughter made us feel "right at home", and provided just the right socializing experience as we settled in our home for the next few days. They even helped us get supper from the local take-out restaurant, the 49 State Brewery (which also is highly recommended by us as a local restaurant -- we ate there twice.)

In addition to the above, in my opinion the cabin prices are extremely reasonable, and are a very fair deal compared to other Denali accommodations. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Denali National Park to make Alaska Spruce Cabin their first accommodation of choice. Were we to return to Denali, we would definitely stay there again. And as a note of caution -- the cabins book early and quickly during the season, so I would recommend making reservations as early as possible. We were very fortunate in getting reservations even though it was very late in the season -- the last few days of August.

All in all, a great, homey, cozy, and laid-back place to stay in the Denali / Healy area, and a great value for the dollar.

Room Tip: There are three cabins for rent, and all are the same - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Perfect cabin outside of the 'glitter gulch' area. Only about 15 minutes from the park entrance. Seemed everytime it was raining cats and dog in the park, we'd drive back to our "home" and it was nice and sunny out....The cabins are very private and quiet.

Cabin was in excellent shape, almost seemed brand new. Full kitchen (this was the only cabin that contained a full kitchen (with dishes, silverware, etc) out of the 3 different cabins we stayed in during our AK trip). Nice attached deck with chairs to look out at the wonderful view of the mountains.

The owner (Doug) was more than gracious as a host. Helped me light up the gas grill that is out in front and even gave us some fresh veggies which were a delight with our grilled salmon.

Would for sure recommend these cabins to anyone going up to Denali. Very good price also.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

It was great to have a full kitchen. There was plenty of room for 3 people. The only bummer was that the beds creaked and were rather soft. Be advised, only coffee, sugar, and creamer are provided -- you need to bring/buy your own food. However, the coffee maker is large, and thermos and travel mugs are provided. Nice touches included a jar of jolly ranchers, a small TV/DVD player with cable, internet, and blow dryer. The cabin was very clean. I could easily stay here a full week.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaskan Spruce Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Spruce Cabin

Address: P.O. Box 241, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alaskan Spruce Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaskan Spruce Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.