We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economic place to stay before going to Denali National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Healy Heights Family Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Healy Heights Family Cabins
Save
You added Healy Heights Family Cabins to your Saves list
Healy, AK 99743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hiawatha, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Economic place to stay before going to Denali National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a nice little cabin to stay in. It was a good value for the area. The grounds are very well maintained and the owners are very friendly with a wealth of information and stories to share. The cabin has a little refrigerator that you can put lunch fixings in if you are taking a Denali bus ride the next day and need to pack a lunch. No TV in the cabins - enjoy the scenery! Don't forget that this is not a Bed and Breakfast, you will need to go out for breakfast or make your own in the little kitchenette. This area doesn't have much for a grocery store so shop ahead of time. Also the dining in the area is not so great. I would recommend bringing something to cook on the nice grill provided on the deck of the cabin. Thanks Rod and Marilou!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this place very very very much!!!!! Advice everybody visit this place!
Amazing place, so beautiful & clean cabins!
Rod & Mariloy are so wonderful. They become the part of me & my family!
Love & kind regards!!!!
Anna

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. I have traveled from the East Coast to the West coast, Europe and Mexico, in well over 100 hotels high priced to low $30/night places. These cabins are the best. They are clean and well managed. It is one of the few places I wished I could stay longer just because of the room. My family stayed here in August ’12 during our visit to Denali National Park. I was worried about the drive to Healy being too far, but that 15 minute drive is fantastic. It is amazing the scenery you see in that short drive. It gives you a completely different perspective. If and when I go to Denali again I know where I will be staying. I should have wrote this right after our trip, but i had trip to Munich a month later and I just now getting to this as I plan this summers trip. We stayed in the Willow Cabin

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family stayed here the end of August during our visit to Denali National Park. This was our third trip to Denali but our first stay at Healy Heights Cabins. The town of Healy is about 15 minutes from the park entrance. The cabin is situated on a mountain ridge with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. We stayed in the Chalet Cabin which is a two bedroom cabin with a loft, full kitchen and bathroom. A large picture window looks out over the valley and mountains. The cabin has a large deck with a gas grill. My family only wished we knew about this place on our previous visits to Denali National Park. Great place with all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Windward cabin at Healy Heights Family Cabins and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabin was so clean and we had a beautiful view from the large window. It was great being able to BBQ on the deck and this helped our budget during our 3 week road journey in Alaska. It was so quiet and peaceful here and we were just so glad we chose to stay here and not closer to the park. The owners are very friendly, were very welcoming and helpful.
We did a bus tour into the park and also 3 different walks as well as seeing the sun setting on Mt. McKinley on our first night there (drove the 15 miles into the park). A wonderful experience coming back to Healy and the sun still shining at midnight!!
We would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling by car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this property. The owners are friendly and very welcoming. The cabins are clean, modern and peaceful.
We stayed 2 nights and were so impressed. There are excellent facilities and the owners ensure your needs are met...just ask.
Rooms are cleaned, refreshments replenished and towels replaced daily - a nice touch.
This is one of those properties you just have to give praise about. Well done and thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Just stay. You will leave happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently did a tour of the interior of Alaska after our cruise and chose Healy Heights as our base for 2 nights while spending time at Denali National Park July 27-28 and boy are we glad we did. We had a lovely little cottage called the "Windward" which had a small fridge, micro, dining table and even coffee, hot chocolate, etc. for our use, very clean and efficient. Once we saw the lodges and motels right around Denali, we were glad we didn't stay there - overcrowded and overpriced. Healy Heights is definitely the way to go if you have a rental car and not with an organized tour group. I highly recommend a "diy" tour including a stay at Healy Heights, we loved it. Gracious hosts and beautiful views too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Healy Heights Family Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healy Heights Family Cabins

Address: Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Healy Heights Family Cabins Hotel Healy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healy Heights Family Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.