We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, strange set-up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Lakeview Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Lakeview Inn
Save
You added Denali Lakeview Inn to your Saves list
Mile 1.2 Otto Lake Road, PO Box 14, Healy, AK 99743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Navarre, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view, strange set-up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October, the "off season" to be close to Denali and away from crowds. Both of those criteria were well met. The highlight of the inn is definitely the view of the surrounding mountains and the beautiful lake with trumpeter swans! It snowed during our first night and we awakened to a winter wonderland! I believe every room offers the view, with balconies on the upper levels. However, the balconies are not very private.
The inn is adequate if you aren't too put off by the 70's decor and having too much furniture crammed into the room, including a giant recliner which was actually kind of nice after a long day of exploring. It just didn't leave much room for our luggage!
It's weird to check in, let yourself into your room, and never see any staff. They leave a "continental breakfast" (the exact same items each day) in your room refrigerator, clean your room, and that's it. No warm welcome here.
I would stay here again, just because of the proximity to Denali. If I were looking for luxury, this would not be my choice. The price is fair for what you get.
I will mention, there are many reviews with complaints about having to take your shoes off. This is actually an Alaskan custom and is common even in much higher end inns.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have the same beautiful view of the lake. Upper level rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    91
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
76
138
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is an interesting set up. Basically you feel like you have a room in someone's house. The rooms were ok - but the back deck and view really made the place. They ask you to take your shoes off when you walk in and they are kind of militant about it. The place has whiteish carpet - not the best choice when the parking lot is dirt.

The 'breakfast' is some juice, milk and then some fruit and bread that they give you - but was good to have something in the morning.

Try the 49th State Brewing Co in Healy for food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent two nights here for visiting Denali.After a busy day it was so nice to come to such a peaceful inn (no tour buses, traffic) yet so close to everything.Yes the road leading to it is pretty rough and the exterior does not look like much but do not worry!! We had the Mountain Glow room and it was large, spotless and what a view.The picture on website is reflective of what the room was like. The breakfast left in fridge was more than adequate and it was so nice to have an actual full size coffee maker. We did not order a lunch to go so cannot comment. We would highly recommend the Lakeview Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights here. It was our second stay. It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast delivered to our room's refrigerator the night before was ample. Granted, the decor is early-80s, so it's not very chic. But the bathtub was very large and the showerhead was comfortably high with good temperature and water pressure. If you want easy access to Denali National Park with an incredible view out the window, look no further. We will stay here again if we come back to Healy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Be sure not to come until 4pm, as rooms are not ready until then. Room was extremely clean & modern. Mountain glow room had huge windows to take in the view of the lake & mountains. Kitchenette set up very organized with plenty of food supplies. Jacuzzi tub was very deep & comfortable. Laundry facility available & reasonably priced. Junk food available for purchase. My husbands favorite lodging by far!!! Handy to Denali National Park with 2 restaurants close by, but less touristy.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights during a quick trip up to Denali. It doesn't look like much on the outside but inside you'll find a very nicely kept, almost B&B style, motel. Rooms are comfortable with fabulous views. Fridges are well stocked with a fresh fruit platter, muffin, breakfast bread, juice. Full size coffeemaker with real coffee and filters (!), asst. teas, box cereals and hot cereal. Microwave also. Nice jetted tub in bath. Pleasant office staff.
Considering your choices of having to be one of the tens of thousands of cruzies that are overtaking Alaska in alarming numbers and staying in one of the cruise lodges or having to choose between some of the other lodging in the area; pricewise and value wise, this was an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After a beautiful drive down from Fairbanks we found our way to this place, which is about 10 miles north of the entrance to the National Park. While the building itself and the immediate area surrounding it are nothing special, the room was nice and the view amazing. We arrived before check in time, so wandered down to Otto Lake for a few minutes and then were able to get into our room early.
We appreciated the help with our luggage since our room was upstairs. The room was large and airy and had a fridge and microwave. The view of the lake and the mountains beyond was gorgeous. The beds were comfy, we had a little table and chairs to eat at, and the bathroom, while dark-ish, was clean with a huge tub. We didn’t take advantage of the cereals and fruit offered since we had brought our own breakfast food, but it was nice to have the dishes and silverware. The only downside is that we didn't get to see the moose family swimming in the lake that others had seen :-(
We would definitely recommend Denali Lakeview Inn to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Lakeview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Lakeview Inn

Address: Mile 1.2 Otto Lake Road, PO Box 14, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain and Lake views. Very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Lakeview Hotel Healy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Lakeview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.