We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a misreprentation!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Denali Park Hotel to your Saves list
Denali Park Hotel
Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, AK 99743   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a misreprentation!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is not a hotel by any means! The “hotel” is a string of modulars next to the highway. You can hear every vehicle that passes and when the wind blows the curtains move! The office is a reconditioned train car with vending machine type snacks. I researched lodging options in advance, and this sounded comparable to actual hotels in the area. Boy was I surprised, and disappointed! This was the type of lodging I was trying to avoid. I would never recommend this to anyone without disclosing what it actually is, a modular motel. It is clean, the rooms are very small, and it is in the Denali area, but for a bit more you can stay in an actual Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsyinnkeeper, General Manager at Denali Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are sorry that you felt we misrepresented our property with our name of Denali Park Hotel. However, we have this name to preserve the history of our hotel which originally was in Denali National Park itself and the name at that time was Denali Park Hotel. We believe our advertising is to the point and very clear as to the type of lodging property that we present. Most of our guests say our facility is quite and the setting is beautiful. We are close to the highway but most of the hotels in the area are also on the main highway so at times you may be able to hear a truck pass by. In our train car lobby we do offer breakfast items at very reasonable rates for our guests to start off their mornings. Again, we are sorry you were not happy with your accommodations with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    89
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
59
86
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were looking for a room that was close to the entrance of the Denali National Park.. and this was what we found when looking for a cheap + last minute reservation for just 1 night.
The room was small but clean.. beds are fairly comfortable.. nothing worth remembering but at a fair price and convenient location.
The staff was friendly and made a good recommendation to drive a few minutes to the 49th State Brewery for dinner / drinks - totally worth it! Great beers, large menu, good food, cool atmosphere and very friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in June and were happy with this hotel considering our budget, that we were there during peak tourist season, and that we wanted to be fairly close to the Park entrance. Our room was basic but clean and tidy. It was well serviced every day of our stay. The curtains were dark enough to ensure we got a good night's sleep despite 19 hours of daylight. The location suited perfectly -- not in the tourist hub of shops and restaurants down the road, but nearer to the Park entrance than if we had stayed at Healy. The girl at the front desk was friendly and professional. If I ever return to Alaska I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent one night end of August 2012, when visiting Denali. Short notice so all other area hotels were full. This was inexpensive and had rooms available. Nothing fancy, but nothing bad. Small rooms, no restaurant, amenities Fit the bill for a one night on-the-way stay. Very tiny room, would not want to stay there for an extended stay or the family tensions would be very high due to space! Would be ok for a couple to stay in for longer, or maybe with a small child. Mattress was pretty worn and leaned to one side. Beds were full size, not queen. Bathroom very tiny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My group and I stayed here one night(August 2012) due to a double reservation conflict with our original hotel. We went to the front office which resembles a train car and checked in. The front desk guy was very nice and helpful. I also liked that the hotel provided quick breakfast options and cheap too.

The room was nice. My room had two queen beds After staying in a not so good hotel in Talkeetna, this was place was like the Hilton. The place was quiet and comfortable.

We also had a moose sighting; a moose and her two calves. That was pretty awesome!!

I believe I originally looked at this place to stay but found it to be on the high side, especially since the place we stayed at for the rest of the week was very similar. Overall, a good place to stay and close enough to Denali Park and the nearby restuarants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildersville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here 6-24-25-2012 . The room was nice and clean.We enjoyed our stay here very much. We are from the country and we felt very much at home here.But I can not say the same about the Denali Park we were very dissappionted. I have been to many national parks and all of the parks Ive been to were prettier than the rest of the state, but to us the mountains we saw driving down the road were prettier than the park. Also we saw more animals on the side of road while driving.I would stay in the Denali Park hotel again, but I would not go to park again.Betty and Lynn Smith West Tn.

Room Tip: You can park and walk into your room, we like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is not the Hilton and the decor looks a bit dated but the staff is very friendly, the rooms are spacious and very clean although the decor might give you a different impression. For the money it was a good stay and believe it or not this is the first hotel ever to offer 2 suitcaseracks in a room with 2 double beds. Close to Denali National Park and the shops and restaurants just outside Denali. Only downside of our room were the beds. They were a bit soft to our liking but again for the price we paid it was great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Hotel

Address: Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Denali Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Park
Denali Park Healy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.