We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great beer, great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 49th State Brewing Co

49th State Brewing Co
Mile 248.4 Parks Hwy, Healy, AK 99743
+1 907-683-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Healy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Whether ordering a burger the size of your head, Alderwood smoked ribs that fall off the bone, or a local organic salad the food at the 49th will not disappoint. Our award winning craft beer is brewed on premises and can be enjoyed in the beer garden while playing disc golf, bocce ball, horseshoes, or bags. The 49th's outdoor concert series brings acts such as: The Wailers, Trampled by Turtles, Dark Star Orchestra, Keller Williams, Pato Banton, and Matt Lewis and the Medicine. The "Into the Wild" bus from the movie is in the garden and visitors are welcome to go aboard to see the memorabilia on display. As we are located 8 miles north of the Denali hub, we offer a local shuttle for a worry free visit.
Campbell, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great beer, great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a fun place! There is a shuttle that makes several round trips from the Denali Park area into Healy which is very convenient if you don't have a car. The atmosphere is fun and relaxed, and the beer is great! The food is also good, but the portion sizes are HUGE so come hungry or plan to share a meal. The only not-so-positive thing I have to say about this place is the particular waiter we had. His name was Andy and we had to continuously remind him about our drinks and food. He never came to check on our table unless prompted by us or another server. Other than that, it was great and I would definitely eat here again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for joining us at the 49th State Brewing Co. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you had a great time at the brewpub. We regret that you had service issues and thank you for sending us your viewpoint. We use this valuable feedback from our guests to continually train and coach our staff.
Thank you for your patronage and have a wonderful day!

Regards,
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    185
    42
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“don't miss it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great dinner here. Lot's of stuff to look at inside. Big TV's, friendly staff, the food is good and the beer is cold. There are even things outside to entertain you. Corn hole, horse shoes, hula hooping. Watching drunk girls hula hooping is most fun.
We had a minor problem with my wife's meal but the manager came right over handled it and comp'd her meal and gave us a dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking a moment to review the 49th State Brewing Co. We are glad to hear that you had fun at the brewery and in our beer garden. If you find yourself back in Denali in August, we have a big outdoor, Bavarian-style beer festival called Augtoberfest on Aug. 1st and 2nd. The beer garden becomes even more lively with 1,000+ people in it!
Once again, thank you for your comments and your patronage.
Regards,
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, MI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food and Service were very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Brandi was our waitress and did a great job. Food was very good. When we first walked up it seemed very redneck however, the inside was cool.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Brandi is a great asset to our brewpub and we're glad to hear that you think so too. We will pass your comments on to her and thank you for your patronage.
Regards,
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot on the way to Denali from Fairbanks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were headed to Denali from Fairbanks and had read previous reviews of this restaurant. We were happy that we stopped. Food and service were great and sitting around the fire inside the restaurant created a cool atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello,
We're glad to hear that you took a moment to stop in at the 49th on your way into Denali. Thank you very much for your review and your patronage. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us and hope you enjoyed your time in Denali.

Regards,
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Five Star Restaurant in a Small Alaska Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is hard to imagine that you would find a five-star restaurant in small Alaska town in the middle of the wilderness. But that is exactly what you find in the 49th State Brewing Company. This is a local brewery and restaurant located in a warehouse with a large tent for overflow seating. It is not fancy. They do not serve beef tartare or arugula but the Yak Burger is to die for! It is loud. it is boisterous. It is Alaska! As an added bonus you can have your picture taken by the bus that was used as a prop for the movie "Into the Wild".

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review and taking the time to let everyone know about your experience at the 49th State Brewing Co. We greatly appreciate your patronage and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the yak burger. We source the yak from a privately owned and operated yak farm in Alaska and serve it proudly.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Alaska and thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49th State Brewing Co also viewed

 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to 49th State Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 49th State Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.