We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 49th State Brewing Co

49th State Brewing Co
Mile 248.4 Parks Hwy, Healy, AK 99743
+1 907-683-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Healy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Whether ordering a burger the size of your head, Alderwood smoked ribs that fall off the bone, or a local organic salad the food at the 49th will not disappoint. Our award winning craft beer is brewed on premises and can be enjoyed in the beer garden while playing disc golf, bocce ball, horseshoes, or bags. The 49th's outdoor concert series brings acts such as: The Wailers, Trampled by Turtles, Dark Star Orchestra, Keller Williams, Pato Banton, and Matt Lewis and the Medicine. The "Into the Wild" bus from the movie is in the garden and visitors are welcome to go aboard to see the memorabilia on display. As we are located 8 miles north of the Denali hub, we offer a local shuttle for a worry free visit.
Grayling, Michigan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Here with Doug and Tony we had a good time good service lots of different choices of beers to try out and had a good time didn't eat but saw other happy people

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for stopping in! Happy reviews make for the best kind of reading! Hope you get to have a bite next time you stop in.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    185
    42
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hubby and I travel from Fairbanks to Anchorage fairly often and have passed by this restaurant since 2012. On a whim, we decided to stop for dinner to break up the long drive. We arrived a little before six, ordered a beer and a Reuben sandwich, and received them really quickly. Once 6PM-ish came, it was packed. Our waitress was great, but when the dinner crowd hit, it took a bit longer to receive our dessert and final glass of beer. Overall, we highly enjoyed eating here, but will come a little earlier in the day if we can help it. I love the decor and atmosphere. Best way to describe it, rustic and blue collar. We'll be stopping by the next time we're going/coming to/from Anchorage.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We're glad you stopped in and plan on coming back. Beginning May 12th, our lunch service begins and we will open at 11am. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great brewery atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This converted garage is full of fun surprises. With large seating areas (indoors, bar, tent and a bonfire outdoors), along with an old replica bus and a gift shop you will not be disappointed. The atmosphere lends to both vacationers and locals alike. The service was beyond great ... our waitress was very friendly and talked our ear off, which we loved. The menu had so much to choose from, everything we tried so far has been yummy. We've been three times so far and will be back anytime we make a trip between Anchorage and Fairbanks or to Denali. At lunch it was fast, we went for dinner one time and it was packed. Love it here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Victoria, getting a review like this from a repeat guest really makes our day. Thank you for taking a moment to spread the word. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Beer Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The beer here is some of the best I've ever had! Fully enjoyed my time here from the beer to the food as well as the fun and knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We love craft beer and are glad you enjoyed ours. Hope to see you again soon and thanks again for spreading the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything you've ever wanted from a brewery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited 49th State Brewery out of curiosity and WOW were we blown away. We found ourselves there for a number of hours because we couldn't bring ourselves to leave (so we decided to camp next door!) The food was incredible, as was the price.The beer was the comparable to the best craft breweries in the country. If you pair the two of those with great live music, a huge beer garden and and awesome views of the mountains, 49th State Brewery is a MUST SEE for anyone visiting or driving through the Denali Area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Co, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Jared, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the brewery. The campgrounds next door at McKinley RV&Campgrounds really are convenient. Glad you were able to take advantage of them! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49th State Brewing Co also viewed

 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to 49th State Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 49th State Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.