We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing life experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Faith Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Faith Hill Lodge
mile 1.9 Lignite Rd., Healy, AK 99743   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid
1 review
“Amazing life experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The rooms were perfect, clean, comfortable, warm, all services, very good price, all perfect, excellent breakfast, you have to choose this, definitely.
The hotel with the best sight I have ever been.
The best, Mitch and Jack, we will never forget that day with them, they were excellent people and very nice. They made us feel like at home, they gave us all what we need and more.
You must know Jack is the best cook in the world and Mitch's life philosophy, It was great the talk with them. You are great!
We really hope to have a new chance to go there, I hope so!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kloten, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Staying at the Denali Faith Hill Lodge was the absolute highlight of our Yukon / Alaska trip! I would even say that it was the best place I have ever stayed at in the entire world. Mitch and Jack were incredibly welcoming, friendly and hospitable! Their lodge is not far from Fairbanks and a short drive from Denali National Park. It is in a beautiful, quiet area. We were even able to see the Northern Lights at the end of April!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the room with 3 beds in it, which can easily hold up to 6 people and includes kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Pros
• Host generous with cooking facilities, laundry, and food supplies and will do anything to make your stay comfortable
• Transport to and from local shuttle and into Denali if required however more convenient to stay here if you have your own transport
• Great cooked breakfast

Cons
• Long way from anywhere but as mentioned above transport options are good
• Noisy from plumbing and walking around in rooms overhead, bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper
• Host fervently religious which can be a tad wearing if you are not this way inclined

Room Tip: might be quieter upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had been touring all over Alaska and had decided to spend a week exploring, adventuring and relaxing in and around Denali. It was like a home away from home. The atmosphere was welcoming and extremely accommodating. Anything you wanted or needed, all you had to do was ask and they were never put out about it. We took the train in and had to rely on shuttles to get us where we needed to go. Some of the local businesses do offer shuttles but when they didn't, Jack was ready and willing to get us anywhere we needed to go. Since we did use this service often, Mitch, the owner gave us, a family of 4 a really good deal. Although the room was small, yet adequate, we had the run of the house, that, and we didn't come to stay in our room. The view from the breakfast/dining area and deck offered fabulous views. It was well off the beaten path and away from the noisy parks highway. One night we were treated to live music by Mitch and some of the guests. Everyone joined in on the singing and had a great time! Breakfast was hearty and delicious. I definitely recommend the omelets and hash browns. We were allowed use of the kitchen to prepare meals so we weren't stuck with going out and paying $50-$80+ for dinner for a family of 4 every night. Mitch and his staff create such a welcoming, friendly atmosphere that we, and many of the guests would hang out in the evenings either in the common area of the house or gathered around the fire outside hoping the Northern Lights would appear. Mitch was very knowledgeable about the things to do in and around Denali and was a wonderful resource. We truly felt like a part of an extended family. We left with joy that we had made such wonderful friends and sadness that we had to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

First of all, Mitch and his family were extremely friendly, warm and accommodating. The first night of our stay, we arrived late and didn't have a chance to get dinner. The closest restaurant was a bit far away, so Mitch welcomed us to join dinner with his family! Definitely above and beyond what we expected!

For the price, the rooms are a steal! The loft area rooms (small rooms just large enough to sleep, shared bathroom) were ~$95 after all fees per night including breakfast, you simply can't beat that in or near Denali. The rooms with private bath were about $140 per night. When researching, the next closest available room was $169 per night.

When you come to the main cabin for breakfast in the morning, you are greeted by hot coffee, sizzling eggs and a great view!

One con for the loft rooms: the noise in the house carries and so the morning breakfast crowd may wake you up. To mitigate this, Mitch provides earplugs and he's been looking into sound proofing the loft rooms.

Would definitely return when visiting Denali!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

This place isn't name Faith Hill because of an affinity for the Country Singer. You might feel blessed to stay here, and since everything else was booked, I was happy to have a room. Don't expect much. It's basic, no views, no thrills; hot shower, bed and a small window. Owners were very nice and made a heart breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I stayed 2 nights and truly enjoyed the hospitality and warmth of hostess and fellow guests. The view from the deck was spectacular and the deck provided a wonderful place to sit, chat, and share the adventures of the day. In fact the ambiance was such that friendships grow and I hope to get together with fellow guests in the future.

Room Tip: As a male, the loft was economical and great but presents challenging step climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denali Faith Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Faith Hill Lodge

Address: mile 1.9 Lignite Rd., Healy, AK 99743
Location: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty lodging in Healy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Faith Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Denali Faith Hill Lodge to your Saves list