We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilkoot River

Chilkoot River
Haines, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Haines
Activities: Group tours/bus tour, Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A short visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

While we were returning to our cruise ship, our guide took us on an unscheduled quick trip up the road that follows the Chilkoot River to see if we could see bear. We saw salmon jumping and a huge eagles nest with the parent eagles in it. The water is crystal clear and amazingly beautiful. We wish we had more time to spend just soaking in the beauty of such a place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Salmon, and eagles, and bear - oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My cousin and I recently visited Haines as a stop on our Alaskan cruise. We didn't want to buy any of the cruise-provided excursions, so we asked some local Haines residents what they would do with a free day in their town. They all agreed that Chilkoot Lake/River was the place to go.

We rented mopeds (I think they costed about $45 with a AAA membership - $50 for non-members) from Captains Choice Motel (only about a 1/2 mile walk from the cruise ship dock) and had a beautiful 10-mile ride up the coastline to the lake. The highway from Haines to Chilkoot has a wonderful wide bike lane, so we felt very safe riding the mopeds slowly along the road.

Upon arriving at the beautiful lake, we saw salmon swimming upstream, and bald eagles keeping a close eye on the salmon. After waiting for about 45 minutes with some new photographer-friends (Chilkoot seems to be a very popular place with photographers) we were rewarded with a visit from a grizzly bear across the river!

Of course, anyone who makes a visit to Chilkoot should always be very aware of their surroundings and stay bear-wise!

Our day in Haines was one of the best days of our trip! I would love to go back to visit again someday!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chilkoot River and Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rented a car at Haines (off of cruise ship) and drove alongside river up to lake. Met Bruce of Rainbow Glacier Adventures, shared some of his knowledge of local area, all around friendly guy. Beautiful scenery, excellent hike, plenty of salmon in river and lake, bears and bald eagles all in 1 afternoon. Would recommend to add boating / kayaking to explore lake.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bike to river head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Rented bikes in Haines (off of cruise ship) and biked the 11 miles out to lake. Salmon ran up the day before so we got lucky and the sun was out (doubly lucky). Bear was in the river fishing along with lots of people. Saw a bald eagle out by the bridge. About an hour bike ride each way. Stop on the way back by the rocky beaches and jump in for a polar plunge. Very nice ride and 1/2 day trip. Pack a lunch and make a nice, inexpensive day trip. No need for an expensive guided tour; just rent and go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Never miss for Salmon and Bears”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Dollies in the lake, salmon in the river, bears along the shore and eagles in the trees..oh and don't forget the fisherman..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chilkoot River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilkoot River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.