We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum

American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum
113 Haines Highway, Haines, AK 99827
907-766-3094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 23 things to do in Haines
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Haines is great, but you have to stop at the American Bald Eagle Foundation if you are there, especially if it's during the Bald Eagle Festival in the fall! Aside from that, the birds are well-cared for, the staff and volunteers are extremely well-trained and helpful - if you've ever had a question about eagles or other raptors, they'll give you a good answer. They LOVE their birds! The museum has one of the best collections of bald eagle specimens, among other birds, fish, and mammals. If you're lucky, founder Dave is often around and he's always got something fascinating to say!

It's a must-see part of Alaska!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get more out of it on the outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's not that I do not recommend going there, but you get much more out of visiting Haines by walking and driving outdoors... You can see tons of wildlife, beautiful scenery, mountains, oceans, Haines has it all....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Eagles - live and stuffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A very good foundation / museum showing a true natural history of Alaskan animals, and the opportunity to see eagles being fed a well as the work the foundation does to protect and help eagles. Worth an hour or two

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Good cause, fabulous birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stopped here actually because we saw people making a totem pole out front...(which was neat!) Then we noticed that this was the American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum and decided to take a look inside.

When we got there, it was very close to closing time, so we did not actually go through the museum, but the staff was very friendly and had one of the birds out for what I will call "injured bird physio"....so she let us see it, very up close and personal. She also showed us where the other live bids live and told us some of the story behind the Foundation. Sounds like an amazing cause and the birds were fantastic to see!

Definitely go here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Some of the best animal exhibits I have ever seen!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Excellent animal exhibits. My wife want to see the feeding of the eagle and I went along not expecting much. Well, as usual, she was right and I was wrong. Very enjoyable and definitely worth seeing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Bald Eagle Foundation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.