We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photography experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Glacier Adventures

Rainbow Glacier Adventures
Haines, AK 99827
(907) 766-3576
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainbow Glacier Adventures offers rafting, kayaking, photography and wildlife viewing tours in Haines and Skagway. RGA features knowledgeable local guides and small groups. Private, custom and exclusive tours available. We've been guiding in Haines since 1990!
2 reviews
“Photography experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I, two aspiring but amateur amateur photographers booked two photography trips with Rainbow Glacier Tours, one to Skagway with Thomas Pickerel and the other for wildlife and "Tack sharp Eagle" photos in Haines with Tom Ganner. The weather was bad in Haines on the day we were due to go on the Skagway photography trip with Thomas Pickerel so Joe Ordonez re-scheduled it for a couple of days later. The day dawned but still bad weather and the sea plane flight from Haines to Skagway wasn't possible, more juggling by Joe and we boarded the fast ferry to Skagway where we were met by Thomas for our photography tour. We'd specifically requested going to Emerald Lake as we'd heard so much about it and seen some wonderful photos. We headed off with Thomas, stopping at a number of photography locations we would never have found on our own. Thomas was fantastic in giving us guidance on how to best frame the shot, the best settings etc. Emerald Lake was a disappointment as the light wasn't right and it didn't look anything like it's spectacular best. Thomas was always on the lookout for alternatives and offering us alternatives that we wouldn't normally consider. Made us look afresh at what and how we make photographs. Some 7 hours later Thomas dropped us off at the State ferry tired but happy with our day out. We had many new ideas on composition and subject and had a thoroughly enjoyable day out. Would highly recommend this trip.
We also booked a private photography wildlife tour with Tom Ganner. Weather problems disrupted our planned day but more rescheduling ensured we didn’t miss out on this fantastic tour. Tom is an excellent guide, not only did he know the best places for viewing eagles but he also took us to his home property to ensure we got the best opportunities. He’s very knowledgeable and quickly had us taking shots we would never have thought we would get. “Tack sharp hand held bald eagle shots” - amazing. He didn’t neglect our landscape photography skills either and introduced us to exposure bracketing with a view to processing them as HDR. Another excellent tour we would highly recommend.
Many thanks to Thomas and Tom but also thanks to Joe for all the hard work in making our trips happen.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGAowner, Owner at Rainbow Glacier Adventures, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Wendy, thanks for your kind words about your photo tours! It was a bit of juggling to accomplish with the weather not being cooperative, but I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves ! Thomas is good at encouraging people to try new approaches to photography, and Tom Ganner is a master at " Tack sharp hand-held eagle shots. " HDR is an exciting new aspect of photography, and I hope that you enjoy having that in your skill set. It was nice getting to know you both, and don't forget to come and see us again, we can set up some nice excursions to some different spots next time. Take care !
--Joe Ordonez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    6
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
“Photography tour in Haines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were greeted promptly by Tom Ganner, a professional photographer that lives and works in Haines. As it turned out, only my husband and I were signed up for the tour so, we had a "private" tour ;-) We talked about composition, lighting, and the style while my husband grilled him on the history of Haines and Skagway (he is not a photographer). Tom droves us to some of his favorite spots. Since he is local, he had permission to stop in spots that others cannot. It turned out to be a lovely day, I got a bunch of great shots and we even had time to get a spotting scope out to view a bald eagle nest with momma taking care of the young. We had so much fun we were the last ones on the ferry to get back to Skagway. Great day and great tour!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGAowner, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Glacier Adventures, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi Kristie, Thank you so much for your nice commentary. At Rainbow Glacier Adventures, we believe 100% in the ¨small group¨experience, but you got the full meal deal, as we had no other bookings for that departure. Tom Ganner is a total pro, adept at helping guests with any sort of camera, from Nikon to I Phone. And you got to see eagles being fed in the nest ? That is something to remember, and we hope you come back soon. We have a variety of tours, and look forward to your return ! Haines is accessible from the Alaska Highway, in Southeast Alaska, we see nearly 200,000 visitors
who arrive via the World Famous Alaska Highway, if you have the time, consider coming for a longer visit ! Haines, and Skagway are the gems of Alaska, and are worthy of a longer visit ! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience with guides who appreciate it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked the half-day kayak trip on Chilkoot Lake. We were greeted by Davey, our relaxed guide. Davey expressed an almost reverence for the lake, the glacial waterfalls flowing into it and the eagles and other birds flying above it . Davey and Jen, our other guide, showed us spots where salmon were spawning. The kayaks were incredibly easy to use and the water was like glass, so there was never any concern with safety or rolling. We were traveling on our own, but most of the group was from a cruise ship, so they had a different perspective on the tour. Rainbow only had tandem kayaks available on the day of our tour. Our group had an odd number in it, so one of use had to go with someone from another group. Ultimately though, it meant getting to know new people. Very nice lunches were included with the tour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
“The Highlight of our Alaskan Cruise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you want to see the most scenic postcard spots, why not go along with the one who has photographed them? Our trip with Tom Ganner, professional photographer and now great friend was an amazing host who tailored the trip to our likes and interests. Many of the tours we researched took large groups to similar areas, but having a smaller group and alongside Tom with a trained eye pointing out the best vantage points made all the difference.

Shooting landscapes has been a passion of mine and Tom taught me so much even though we carried a lot of experience. The best part was watching Tom adapt to those with little experience as well. Novice to beginner or just along for the views, Tom and Rainbow Glacier Adventures is the group to travel with!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Photography excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great tour in Skagway,, a morning SUV excursion to photograph places only a local person would know. Tom Pickerel was knowledgable about cameras, setting up a scene, and bringing us to scenic locations. More than promised!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Glacier Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Glacier Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.