We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Choice Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haines
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Choice Motel
Save
You added Captain's Choice Motel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   108 Second Ave. N, Box 392, Haines, AK 99827   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Wildersville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here 6-21-12.The room was clean and we had a deck with this Wonderful view. We were there two nights. The staff were very helpful.I would stay there again.Betty and Lynn Smith from West Tn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
16
22
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location and staff that really makes you feel welcome. The view is phenomenal. Freshly brewed coffee in the Lobby is most appreciated on a freezing October afternoon. Coming from Anchorage to catch the Ferry to Bellingham the next day, this is the place to stay in Haines, Alaska. It is a bit spendy, but worth it
Check out is @ 11 am (as in most places) but we were welcome to hang out until early evening
Lobby is inviting, so is the little bar. We stayed there on a Football Monday and got to watch a game in the bar where they offered free snacks (crackers,cheeses,cold cuts, dip)

This is a place where locals hang out as well and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and the opportunity to chat and to share stories.

Thank you

Room Tip: Corner Room facing the canal is our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we changed plans to stay over in Haines so we could go to the Kroschel Films Wildlife Center (see tip on that), we also changed car rental and our hotel. Captain’s Choice offered a shuttle to/from the ferry, so that made a good option, and their cars are unlimited mileage – important when sightseeing and we were doing the Golden Circle Route from Haines-Haines Junction-Whitehorse-Skagway and back to Haines via the ferry. The e-mail responses that I received were friendly and prompt, and totally helpful. We were given, as promised, rooms on the top floor off the balcony with gorgeous views out over the water. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities that we needed. No free wifi, but there was a package available which was usable in other communities. The breakfast was self-serve, wonderful raisin toast, and cereals, tea & coffee. As we arrived in the morning, our rooms weren’t ready, but we were allowed to leave our bags in the lobby until we returned, around noon. The motel is walking distance to the shopping, and easy to drive out to the Salmon Run, or up the Haines Highway. I would have no problem recommending the Captain’s Choice to anyone. There were comments about it being dated, but we both felt that the décor was part of the charm and character. If we wanted modern, we’d have stayed down in the Lower 48 and Canada!!!
We were very pleased with the car, a Subaru Forester, good for the 2 of us, our gear, and the 3 days travelling we did. Very importantly, it was, as mentioned, unlimited mileage, and it was good having the shuttle to pick us up at the ferry dock and then to take us back when we returned the car. Cannot reiterate enough how helpful and friendly the staff were at Captain's Choice.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room - lovely view, and main floor made getting luggage in and out easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Perfectly/centrally located, walk to anywhere in town. Helpful, friendly staff... courtesy shuttle to and from the ferry... in-room fridge, microwave... nice deep bath tub with piping hot water, luxurious towels, great bed pillows, good mattresses (although the bed frames themselves were kind of creaky-sounding)... guest laundry facilities... and quick-and-easy car rentals right on the premises. Roomy basic accommodations with plenty of space for our considerable gear. Perfect for our needs, all the way around!

Room Tip: Annex rooms have nice views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My cousin and I recently visited Haines as a stop on our Alaskan cruise. While there, we didn't want to pay for any of the excursions organized by the cruise ship. We asked a few Haines residents where they would go if they had a free day in their town, and they all agreed that Chilkoot lake was the place to go. So, we walked up to the Captain's Choice Motel (only about 1/2 a mile from the cruise ship dock) and rented two mopeds to take us on the 10-mile trip to Chilkoot.

Captains Choice provided helmets, and all equipment was clean and in great condition. The service was very friendly.

The trip to Chilkoot lake, as promised, was wonderful! A 10-mile ride (most of it along a very wide bike lane on the side of the highway) along the coastline with mind-blowing views brought us to the glassy, secluded lake surrounded by rocky peaks. A river running from the lake down to the Inside Passage was full of the summer's last salmon traveling upstream to spawn. The salmon attracted several bald eagles, and even a grizzly bear! (Seeing the bear was a awesome experience, but visitors to Chilkoot should always be very bear-wise.)

Thanks, Captain's Choice, for helping us have a wonderful day in Haines!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel one night early July this year. I won't soon forget this experience. The bathroom hadnot been cleaned properly: there was human excrement on the floor, and hairs. The mattrasses were way past due; and the rooms didnot smell fresh. Unfortunately I didnot check the rooms when I checked in and didnot get to see the room late at night when I was very tired. It was a very busy weekend in Haines and I was "lucky I got a room at all". So I swallowed my pride; I have been in some horrible places in Alaska and Canada's North, and although I wouldnot say this was the worst, it was certainly a place I felt I neede to write a report about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Haines is a small Alaskan town. As such this is a good hotel. Staff are excellent and the service is good. Pick up and drop off at the ferry is always available, and if you ask for other transport they are very obliging. The bar is an OK place to meet the locals. Breakfast is ordinary but adequate.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Choice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Choice Motel

Address: 108 Second Ave. N, Box 392, Haines, AK 99827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Choice Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Captain`s Choice Hotel Haines
Choice Hotel Captains
Choice Hotel Haines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Choice Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.