We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halsingland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Halsingland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halsingland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Fort Seward Dr., Haines, AK 99827   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Haines
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The lobby of this hotel would make a good setting for a John Irving-type novel. Lots of space and dark wood and staff who are naturally friendly (as opposed to customer service training friendly). The two rooms we had were spacious too, as were the big old free-standing bathtubs in both rooms. The old fireplace and large windows added to the comfortable atmosphere. It's a few blocks from the centre of town but nothing is too far away in Haines. The ferry is close by too, though it's an uphill climb - which eliminates the need for a fitness centre. Free wifi and jigsaw puzzles are available in the lobby. Hotel choice is limited in Haines but that's not a problem if room is available here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    11
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
15
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's old but grand. If you are looking for 5 Star, you will not find it AT ALL here in Haines, AK. That's ok because you get Quaint and Just Right. Great service (Check In), walking distance to everything Haines has to offer even a walking tour. The pics listed above are true and accurate. You are actually sitting on an Old Military Fort. The bar/lounge (on site) is a little slow but if you are not in a rush then sit back and enjoy....Seriously, if you are ever in Haines, AK and need a place to stay, this is it...Good Luck and Enjoy!

Room Tip: Call in advance if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Hotel was very roomy but was old and dated. Loved the Tub in the room. It was about 7 foot long and about 4 foot tall. It was one of those iron tubs with feet. Loved it. No AC but just open a window as it was about 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

Just a good place to stay. The Staff helped us carry our bags to the room and opened the door for us. We were late getting in about 11:30pm but it was no problem. He even talked us in over the cell phone guiding us turn by turn the last 5 minutes or so.

Good clean rooms and nice staff. Bathroom needed more shelving to store your stuff.

Room Tip: Ask to be on 1st floor because the stairs were tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while on a road trip through Alaska on motorcycle. Wonderful hotel, really enjoyed our stay here and the owner was so helpfull and acommodating. We had one of the best meals of the trip in the restaurant at the Halsingland Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Halsingland in Haines, Alaska, and it was a wonderful place to stay. The hotel was originally officer's quarters at the former Ft. Seward Army Base. Our room had a beautiful rustic charm of years gone by. We had a bath ensuite, with a lovely claw foot bathtub. There was a non-working fireplace which added to our room's uniqueness. We had a forward facing room that had two windows that looked out over the large grass area at the center of Ft. Seward, which was the former parade grounds.

Though it is an older hotel, we had a very comfortable bed, phone, cable TV, and a beautiful view of the base and mountains. As you walk into the hotel, you will be in a lovely foyer. The woodwork is lovely, and the staff is courteous and so very helpful. When we arrived, Haines was in the middle of a heat wave. The temperature was in the mid-80's! We asked the front desk if they had a fan, and they brought us one that night!! We appreciated the time and effort to seeing to our care.

With a summer visit, we appreciated the room-darkening curtains for the light evenings. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Halsingland, and appreciated the help of Robin at the front desk and with Jeff, the owner. They answered all our questions, asked about our day as we would walk in, and offered help in planning our days. While you are there, we encourage you to take the self-guided walking tour around the base housing which are now B&B's and private homes.

This is a lovely place to stay while in Haines.

The Nicholson Family
Albany, OR

Room Tip: As the Halsingland was built in 1903, there are many level of stairs. There are no elevators to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose to stay at Halsingland Hotel because we were traveling with some friends who were camping, and this hotel also has a nice enough RV park, which made it very convenient. Perhaps the best thing about this place is that it's located in the lovely Fort Seward area. Our room was large and clean (despite the half used bottle of shampoo left in the shower), but otherwise pretty basic. Once you walk past the lobby, It doesn't quite have the charm you would expect a Victorian inn to have. The entire place could definitely use some TLC and sprucing up! However, I did enjoy the free coffee and pastries served in the lobby in the morning. I don't think I'd be going back, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it either - it's a fine place as long as you're not expecting too much in the way of atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We selected the Hotel Halsingland through Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! As part of the historic Fort Seward complex in Haines, this hotel, over 100 years old, is understandably old-fashioned. We enjoyed the opportunity to stay in a national historic landmark while exploring the old fort's grounds and the area surrounding Haines. Jeff Butcher, the owner of the hotel, was a gracious and helpful host; his wife is the chef and we had the most outstanding dinner in the hotel restaurant! It would be worth another visit just to repeat the dining experience!

The Hotel Halsingland is not fancy. It is an old building and retains much of the charm of years past. Don't expect a 5-star experience. You will have to climb stairs, use a real key to enter your room, and experience a genuine claw-foot tub in the bathroom! Furnishings are modest but clean.

If you are planning to visit Haines, we would certainly recommend the Hotel Halsingland as your destination of choice! The friendly atmosphere of the hotel makes you feel at home, Jeff was helpful and informative (he even offered to keep our purchased halibut and scallops in his freezer while we were visiting!), and the food and service in the hotel restaurant was second to none.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Halsingland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsingland Hotel

Address: 13 Fort Seward Dr., Haines, AK 99827
Location: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Halsingland Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Halsingland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halsingland Hotel Haines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halsingland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.