We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stop for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silvertip Grill

Silvertip Grill
165 Hightower Rd, Girdwood, AK 99587
+1 907-783-2594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Girdwood
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Kent, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were pretty impressed with the small town of Girdwood, we were sad we were unable to stay for the holiday festivities.

We had a late lunch at the Silvertip Grill where we got our first official "Alaska" Beer. Lunch was fantastic, I think I had a club wrap maybe? Service was good, beer was cold. Can't ask for more!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    41
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dinner in a local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A short distance from Hotel Alyeeska is a local bar & eatery. Don't let the looks scare you away, delicious sandwiches and ice cold beer. The service is not the quickest but the food was tasty & filling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Silvertip Grill is kind of like a biker bar. I had a halibut wrap that was very tasty. It came with a side so I asked what did the server suggest. He suggested the pasta as it had pine nuts and lots of tasty goodness. He was right it was very enjoyable. My husband had the taco salad that he said ranked a bit higher than most.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,373 reviews 1,373 reviews
912 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
2,618 helpful votes 2,618 helpful votes
“Small Red Building on Left as one enters Girdwood Town Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Silvertip Grill is a Small Red Building on Left as one enters Girdwood Town Center.

For those who may not like Jack Sprat, Silvertip Grill is at the opposite end of the continuum.

I like both Silvertip Grill and Jack Sprat.

I like a restaurant that serves breakfast all day, and Silvertip Grill is essentially a small pub, with breakfast and pub grub.

We like the easy parking, and a decent breakfast.

Silvertip Grill has it's own personality, and if one is prepared and in the mood, Silvertip Grill is promising. Might not wanna impress a new date here, but couples will feel fine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salton City, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Bar Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Well as we've discovered since arriving in Girdwood, anywhere you choose to eat you're going to have to sell your first born to pay for it.
I was really looking forward to dinner after reading some reviews of the grill so I looked at the menu online and ordered over the phone to carry it out. I ordered the fish and french fries. Being Alaska I was expecting actual good quality fish. It says Pub Battered Halibut but it tastes more like frozen Van de Camps fish that you buy in the grocery store. The pieces were small just like they are in a box of frozen fish. So I got three small pieces of fish and french fries and it was $16.50. My husband ordered the Reuben Sandwich ($14.00) and he said it was okay but he's like most husbands that will eat about anything. I'm glad we tried it so we know, but we won't be back during the remainder of our stay. The bartender who handed me the food was very friendly and very easy on the eyes :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silvertip Grill also viewed

 

Been to Silvertip Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silvertip Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.