We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Mountain Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alyeska to your Saves list
Hotel Alyeska
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely Mountain Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Famous as a ski resort area, Alyeska is a great destination in the summer. When booking a room July 14th we were offered a summer special rate. Our standard king room was anything but standard. Warm and comfortable room with all the perks, robes, large towels, towel warmer, firm mattress, free WIFI, even Starbucks coffee in the room. We loved the details, etched elevator doors, beautiful lobby, specialty shops, spa and very friendly staff. Several dining options, and a bonus, a tram that takes you to a gourmet restaurant! Just a short 20 minute drive from Anchorage.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, very quiet. Higher floors have better view but may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    236
    60
    29
    21
See reviews for
256
391
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of our Alaskan trip. Attention to detail and making your stay enjoyable seem to be of utmost importance to the staff. The grounds are gorgeous with hundreds of colorful flowers. There is a cool fire pit near the entrance for warmth and decor.
The lobby has huge ceilings and interesting artifacts. The architecture is open and airy, and it has an Asian feel to it - minimalist, clean lines, beauty in simplicity. There is a wooden bench outside of each room, a doorbell, and lighted buttons to designate privacy which can be activated from inside the room. There are bathrobes and slippers provided, a heated towel rack, complimentary water, a mini-fridge and coffee maker, and chocolates appear on the beds by evening.

A Tram that takes you up the mountain to a restaurant and observation deck is adjacent to the hotel. It's about $20 and is 1/2 price after 7 pm (in July it stays light until about 11:30 ish).

The hotel has a nice selection of restaurants, a gift shop, and a couple of stores (one boutique and one that carries outdoor clothing and gear, backpacks, lots of North Face stuff and similar items).

For runners and hikers, there is a plentiful variety of trails for different skill levels. There is a great paved trail for runners that parallels the road but is much more scenic. For a more challenging route, you can hike/run up to the top of the mountain instead of taking the tram.

After a good run, there's nothing like relaxing in the large hot tub w/great views, and jumping in the pool or doing some reps in the fitness room. While in the hot tub, we saw a bear in the distance. Our room was on the 3rd floor, which was convenient to everything. A short walk down the hallway in one direction got us to the pool/hot tub/fitness area. A short walk in the other direction took us to the elevators and stairs to the restaurants and lobby.

I must mention Rachel, the Concierge who was extremely helpful and had terrific advice and recommendations. I asked her many questions before we even got to Alaska, and I really appreciated her expert suggestions.

As a side note, they do offer flat rate boxes if you need to lighten your load and mail something home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a rented motor home, so we were not able to stay here. But if we needed a place to stay, we would definitely be staying here. Was absolutely beautiful - the grounds & inside.

We went to go on their tram. I am afraid of heights & was not sure if I would do it. However, I was so glad I did. It was no problem at all going up in the ski lift that is completely enclosed. Very smooth ride and beautiful view while going up and down. Once you get to the top the view is breath taking. There are 2 restaurants at the top. Seven Glaciers is only open for dinner so we were not able to go there. But if they would have been open, they looked fantastic. We ate in the regular restaurant. Average food & how do you say expensive. $30 for 2 orders of chicken strips, 2 bowls of chili & 2 soda's. Ouch. But I guess you are paying for the view. Some people had taken their own food up and were eating at the observation deck where there were picnic tables. This would be the route to go.

I had found a coupon for buy one get one free in a "Passport" coupon booklet at a visitor center so be on the lookout for that. Looks just like a passport. There is also a coupon in the 2013 Milepost which i believe is for $5 off. The tram ride is $20 per person (adult). Well worth it.

When you get to the top if you want there is also a trail you can hike on.

We walked around in the resort afterwards. Very nice place.

As I said, we did not stay at the resort so I'm not rating on that, only the tram.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here on the last day of the land portion of the Celebrity Cruise cruisetour. The grounds and lobby were beautiful and well kept. The room was spacious and well appointed- luxury amenities. We were given a free ride ticket on the tram up the mountain, which was interesting.
The restaurant for breakfast brunch was adequate, nothing special and the service was lacking. The restaurant for dinner was wonderful with top notch service, and a varied and interesting menu- the desserts were large enough to share and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We we're RV'ing in Alaska and planned to meet friends in Girdwood for dinner at Seven Glaciers. Needing a break, we decided to book a room in order to sleep in a real bed for a night! After dinner, we had a few drinks in the bar at the resort. Unfortunately the service was slow, took 20+ minutes to get refilled from the bar. I think they were short staffed this night.
The room was clean and fresh smelling! Beds were so comfortable and check-out isn't till noon, which was a huge perk! The staff at the cafe for the breakfast
buffet totally made up for the bar service the night before. We were the last family let in and two young men that served us the morning of 4th of July were so attentive and pleasant! One even gave us to go cups with fresh, hot coffee in them before we left! Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Flying into Anchorage and sailing out of Whittier, this is a perfect stopping point for one or two nights. For nature lovers, this is an awesome hotel, offering hiking trails throughout the resort (it's a ski resort in the winter, but that's long over with come May). The ride to the top of the mountain on the aerial tram is beautiful; can see bears and other wildlife even from far above the ground. It's well worth spending a few extra dollars and having dinner at the Seven Glaciers restaurant. The view is gorgeous and it's a well-renowned spot for great food, having earned a 4-diamond rating for something like 14 or 15 years in a row.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mountain; facing the other way you won't see much more than the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Love this property--it has so much to offer with great pool area, spa, views are incredible, and the food is excellent at every restaurant. I will base all of my Alaskan fishing trips from this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alyeska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.