We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alyeska to your Saves list
Hotel Alyeska
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Groupon Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Character hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Pros
- Excellent location (located at the bottom of the Tram and Chair 7)
- Great views
- Nicely decorated hotel (look up in the lobby and say "Hi" to the bear in the window at the top of the stairs)
- Cool, outside fireplaces
- Good bed, good linens, nice room furnishings
- Super flush toilets
- Good size room
- Wifi included in resort fee - worked well even over New Years with all the kids!
- Lots to do in the immediate area
- Groomed cross country ski trails
- Family friendly
- Knowledgable and polite staff

The other stuff... our room was too hot so we had a hard time sleeping with the grooming machines at work outside (we had the window open). The shower was only okay. We wouldn't recommend the lounge. The service was poor, the wine by the glass... not so good, the food was slow (lots of errors including the tables beside us). It was raining at the resort... the parking lot was scary slippery and so were the sidewalks leading up to the resort... bring ice grippers. Better yet, hopefully the Hotel will at least scrape the ice off the sidewalks on the property. They do put down gravel, but it wasn't enough for the conditions. The hotel parking lot needs a clean - cigarettes, candy bar wrappers, etc.. were all over the icy lot.

Great hotel. We will return when the resort opens Chair 6!

Room Tip: Mountain view were beautiful. The higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    219
    58
    29
    20
See reviews for
242
375
30
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A great hotel in Girdwood, Aalaska in the midst of Ice. Nice atmosphere. Good Service, Nice food. Award winning restaurant in the top of the hill. the tram taking up to the mountain gives a superb panoramic view. The restaurant on the hill top is the best place to dine and enjoy

Room Tip: mountain view rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a beautiful resort nestled in the mountains just south of Anchorage. The ski-lifts for the mountain start right at the hotel, and a couple of the runs terminate here as well. Facilities are plentiful, and the restaurants are very good. The rooms are nice and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. It's a great place to visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

As part of a cruise/land tour by Holland America, one of our stops was the Hotel Alyeska. What a beautiful property. Handsome rooms, gorgeous view of the mountain right outside the hotel and great amenities. We took the tram up to the top of the mountain. That was a great exerience, in fact, we went to the top of the mountain twice in one day, once in the afternoon to take in the gorgeous scenery and have lunch, then again in the early evening for a drink in the louge in the restaurant at the top of the mountain. Great way to spend some time, having a cocktail and looking out the windows at the snow topped mountain; only in Alaska can you do that in August! Oh, buy the combo ticket for the tram ride and lunch, it's a good value

We found the restaurant at the top to be a bit pricey so we went back down to Girdwood and found a great little restuarant that locals recommended, and had a super meal. There a several local restuarants to choose from.

The next day we enjoyed the view again as we looked out the window from the hot tub in the hotel. It was a great stop, actually, the best hotel stop on the trip. Don't miss it.

Four of us signed up for a hike with a guide, which was a great take. The tour group is located in the "yute" outside the hotel. Our guide, a college grad, was very knowledgeable and delightful. The hike can be as challenging as you'd like, just state your preference up front. Don't miss this experience. Overall, we highly recommend the Alyeska!

.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent a week here in September for business. I cannot say enough positive things about the property, the staff, the food or the amenities. Having lived in Anchorage for awhile, but before this hotel was built, I knew the area well. My expectations were blown out of the water by how well run this property is.

The room was spacious, and the toiletry amenities were luxurious. The shower/tub was terrific and includes a hand-held shower head. There was also a heated towel rack in the bathroom which would be heavenly during winter ski season, I'm sure. My only minor complaint with the room was the lack of occupant-controlled HVAC. I had to call the front desk about the perfume smell in the room that I couldn't get rid of because I couldn't turn on the HVAC fan. However, the hotel handled the issue immediately and perfectly. They came in and adjusted the controls in the ceiling which took care of the problem completely. The room contained bathrobes, slippers, coffee maker, and so many other little nice details it's hard to list them all.

The setting just can't be beat. Do not miss taking the tram to the top of the mountain, regardless of the weather conditions or season that you're there. The tram staff was terrific, and so friendly.

The food was great and the staff were 100% fantastic, 100% of the time. I have never encountered such consistency in superb service.

I cannot wait to return for a pleasure trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

An amazing place! Arrived Saturday and signed up for the special, which included a night in the hotel, 2 lift tix, and $25 resort credit. The hotel is really nice, somewhat dated but in an awesome 'I feel like I'm in a ski movie' way. The towel warmer was sweet. Our view was of the mountain/tram. We explored the resort and took a walk to town for lunch at Chair 5 (yum). We got back and took a dip in the pool and hot tub with some pro skiers - seriously! Grabbed some snacks at the little store with our resort credit. The next day, we had some GREAT spring skiing for Memorial Day. So excited that we got to ski there - and saw the pro skiers zipping around and jumping off all kinds of things. All in all, would like to do this every weekend if we could!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This resort is nestled in a beautiful location. The views from the top of the ski resort are jaw dropping. The restaraunt at the top of the mountain with the stellar views and 5 star food are worth the trip alone. The hotel rooms are basic, the resorts' location is the true star!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alyeska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.