We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alyeska to your Saves list
Hotel Alyeska
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent a week here in September for business. I cannot say enough positive things about the property, the staff, the food or the amenities. Having lived in Anchorage for awhile, but before this hotel was built, I knew the area well. My expectations were blown out of the water by how well run this property is.

The room was spacious, and the toiletry amenities were luxurious. The shower/tub was terrific and includes a hand-held shower head. There was also a heated towel rack in the bathroom which would be heavenly during winter ski season, I'm sure. My only minor complaint with the room was the lack of occupant-controlled HVAC. I had to call the front desk about the perfume smell in the room that I couldn't get rid of because I couldn't turn on the HVAC fan. However, the hotel handled the issue immediately and perfectly. They came in and adjusted the controls in the ceiling which took care of the problem completely. The room contained bathrobes, slippers, coffee maker, and so many other little nice details it's hard to list them all.

The setting just can't be beat. Do not miss taking the tram to the top of the mountain, regardless of the weather conditions or season that you're there. The tram staff was terrific, and so friendly.

The food was great and the staff were 100% fantastic, 100% of the time. I have never encountered such consistency in superb service.

I cannot wait to return for a pleasure trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    281
    73
    34
    23
See reviews for
303
480
45
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

An amazing place! Arrived Saturday and signed up for the special, which included a night in the hotel, 2 lift tix, and $25 resort credit. The hotel is really nice, somewhat dated but in an awesome 'I feel like I'm in a ski movie' way. The towel warmer was sweet. Our view was of the mountain/tram. We explored the resort and took a walk to town for lunch at Chair 5 (yum). We got back and took a dip in the pool and hot tub with some pro skiers - seriously! Grabbed some snacks at the little store with our resort credit. The next day, we had some GREAT spring skiing for Memorial Day. So excited that we got to ski there - and saw the pro skiers zipping around and jumping off all kinds of things. All in all, would like to do this every weekend if we could!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This resort is nestled in a beautiful location. The views from the top of the ski resort are jaw dropping. The restaraunt at the top of the mountain with the stellar views and 5 star food are worth the trip alone. The hotel rooms are basic, the resorts' location is the true star!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint charles, il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed one night in early September on a post cruise land tour. The location and resort were beautiful. The room was large and beautifully decorated. Staff was good, but restaurant was ok. Had to wait a long time for service, with food prices being somewhat "outrageous", which seems typical for Alaska.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in mid September and loved the location. The room was great but most of the staff seemed tired of tourist and slightly irritated by our presence. Too bad. Great location coupled with great staff could make this a special place. Average experience as currently managed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel Alyeska was a beautiful place. The resort was tastefully decorated, with plenty of meeting rooms and large spaces for weddings and other functions. On the second level, there were sitting place where clients can gather together comfortably or to access free WIFI internet since it was not available in the guest rooms. Walking through a corridor franked by souvenir shops and coffee/snack places, one would exit the back to a garden with a round about for the local shuttle bus into the town of Girdwood. From there, one can also take a tram to the top of the mountain where a ski resort and a great restaurant “Seven Glaciers” was located. (I would be reviewing the restaurant separately.)

The room we stayed in was spacious, well serviced and quiet, offering the residents a comfortable stay. The furniture was clean and arranged harmoniously with the room’s existing wall color and carpet, making the room a relaxing place to rest. I really could not find anything detracting us from enjoying our stay in this resort. We also had a chance to walk around the ground around the resort where the horticulture was carefully arranged, providing good photographic spots. The only disappointment was the lack of tourist spots around the resort’s general vicinity. The skiing up the back mountain must be beautiful in winter months, but during the warm months, there was not much to see and do for us. The town of Girdwood was small and lack of any meaningful shopping. There were a few nice restaurants with good reputation, but no much more than that for visitors.

Room Tip: We did not have much of a choice for location of the room since we were part of HAL tour group. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Alyeska Hotel in Girdwood on our way back to Anchorage. September is a great time to travel in this area as the trees are turning colour and look fabulous. The hotel is well worth a visit, they have some beautiful bronze sculptures of native animals in the grounds and a great stuffed Polar Bear in reception. The Cable Car up to the top of the mountain is well worth a go. (They call it a Tram over there.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Anchor Inn
Anchor Inn
#2 of 2 in Whittier
3.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alyeska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.