We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alyeska to your Saves list
Hotel Alyeska
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Evansville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have been to Alaska 2 times and spent 2 nights at this hotel each time. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the public areas have beautiful views from large windows. The decor is very inviting. There are several restaurants and a Starbucks located in the hotel and other good choices in the small town of Girdwood.
Aleyska Resort is located in Girdwood, which is about a 45 minute drive from Anchorage. The drive along the Turnagain Arm is lovely and there are several spots that you can stop and hike or take photos. This is a good location for day trips north or south.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    244
    64
    32
    23
See reviews for
265
405
38
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We found the Hotel Alyeska to be a classy place. Our room was spacious with a pretty view (hard to avoid in this area), and the service was friendly and professional. We started our Alaska trip here, and took one of the hikes off of the Alyeska property (Winner Creek Trail) which made for a great acclimation to the terrain and the area. It's a great hike, btw. Breakfasts at the Pond Cafe were very good and served efficiently. We ate our first evening at the bar of the Aurora Grill, and while there was some confusion about whether we could eat at the bar or not, once we were served, meals were yummy (great burger for me, rather elaborate pasta for my husband). We splurged and ate one night at Seven Glaciers which I have also reviewed, and if you decide not to do that, be sure to take the tram to the top and enjoy the great views from the top of the ski resort. I'm happy to say we received quietly professional treatments at the spa, and since this was the last luxury place we were staying in on our trip to AK, we made the most of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

we did'nt get to stay here but drove from anchorage....i have to say the cable car ride was breath taking..u can see glaciers aswell as the cook inlet...i can only imagine what its like when people ski in the winter...must see spot if you are visiting anchorage area...

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 5 nights in July. Great location and the staff was friendly. We had a junior suite which was nice but not an awesome view, but OK. However, for the money this hotel has some work to do. For example, we called to have a TV remote sent up and were told they would try to get us one (no remote in our room), but they never showed up. After a long flight and drive to the hotel, we pulled up but the valet guy was gone. We thus parked our own car and during the stay were never asked if they could help with bags or getting our car. I kind of wondered what does the valet do? As you pull up it does not feel upscale at all because of the valet issue and a new car up on a trailer that they were promoting? As we were checking out, we were in a hurry but 75 little campers came into the hotel lobby and trashed the rest rooms and were really loud. Not very relaxing. No kids activities at all. They could have had a fire with smores or something. Finally, when we checked in we explained that we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Not that I expected anything, but you would have thought an acknowledgment of some kind would have been appropriate. Net, a good hotel that has a way to go to be great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Kept an eye out for the best deal for this hotel and got one. It's expensive to stay anywhere around here inexpensively, and got a real good rate here. It's a great place to stay. Staff was really helpful. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Booked through Hotels.com and kept checking rates for the months before our travel and did get it ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our stay was set up by our cruise line & though we had looked over the literature & expected a comfortable hotel, especially by Alaska typical standards, we were blown away! The resort is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been to. It is extremely family oriented, yet romantic at the same time, providing something for everyone. The food was reasonably priced, fresh, & extremely well prepared. The rooms were comfortable with many nice touches. The tram, co-located, whisks you to the top of the mountain where the view is breathtaking. If you like walking, hiking, biking, or just enjoying the beauty of nature, this is a once in a lifetime chance to enjoy any or all.

Room Tip: Ask for one in which the tram does not block the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 2nd anniversary. It was our first time to Alaska and we weren't sure what to expect but had always wanted to go. Being in the travel business, he had asked many locals where a good place would be to stay. Time after time people recommended here so we went with it!
We were not disappointed. It far exceeded any expectations I had and the views were majestic-really and truly took our breath away. We arrived at night-couldn't see a whole lot. When we woke up that morning and opened the curtains we were completely amazed-I've honestly never seen such a gorgeous view. The mountains seem as they go on forever and I can't even tell you how many pictures we took that day staring out the window!
The hotel itself is fabulous, the staff were all amazing, very folksy but knowledgeable. I would go back in a heartbeat, we still miss it there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alyeska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.