We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Appeal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dancing Bears Nightly Rental

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dancing Bears Nightly Rental
Save
You added Dancing Bears Nightly Rental to your Saves list
127 Cortina Rd, Girdwood, AK 99587   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Girdwood B&B and Inns
St.J NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Appeal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Upon our arrival (which was 45 min early) we were met in the driveway by our hostess, asked if we had reservations and were rudly told Oh No, you are too early, Im not ready for guests yet, you will have to come back later!! At this point I would have went some place else but of course the room was already paid for.
The northface unit was a disappointment, the size of an extra large closet, with a full size and a set of bunkbeds crammed into it. The shower in the bathroom was so small you literally couldnt turn around in it.
The view out of the windows were piles of lumber and weeds, amongst that mess sat a hot tub.
Around 10pm we were awoke by dogs barking and kids yelling and running around upstairs for about 15 minutes, I guess the gang arrived home.
We couldnt wait to get out of there the next morning, we had our breakfast at the bakery down the road,
The whole place and the hostess were a real turnoff.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DancingBearsbb, Manager at Dancing Bears Nightly Rental, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you for your constructive criticism. We've made many changes and improvements at the Dancing Bears since your stay. It is unfortunate that you were so dissatisfied. Though we realize it is impossible to please everyone, we would prefer not to have our guests leave so unhappy and we hope it never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We met up with our hostess upon our arrival - very nice. We stayed in the Northface room which had a queen and 2 bunk beds. We were travelling with 2 teenage boys - so any time they don't have to share a bed is a great night sleep for all! The bath room was nice and clean, but no shampoo, we had to grab enough towels out of the laundry. Our hostess gave us some great ideas for fun for the evening 1. tram to Mt Alyska & bring garbage bags for sledding or 2. do the 5 mile (round trip) Winner creek trail which ends at a hand pulled tram over a gorge. We did both and were great hits with all! By the time we did both it was 10pm and most restaurants were closed. We ate at Chair 5 which was still serving a limited menu (pizza and bergers). I had a buffalo caribou berger which was great! Next morning we made our own breakfast - which was actually a nice change of pace. They had all the fixings for pancakes, sausage in the freezer, fresh fruit, juices and coffee. The guys did the dishes while I packed up. You are basically staying in the lower level of their house - heard the little kids once, but not an issue as we had our own family.

  • Liked — Able to make our breakfast - lots of choices
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

We were in a bind when lodging fell through but managed to get a room at the Dancing Bears for two nights in the middle of June with very little notice. Brent and Lorna have done a great job of fixing the place up - very new and updated kitchen is especially nice.

Breakfast is serve-yourself from a very well-stocked kitchen, but we really liked that flexibility, rather than having hosts make our breakfast.

There's a hot-tub onsite, a very small sauna, and Lorna is a professional massage therapist. I had an hour-long massage two days after running my first marathon and it was truly awesome. She is an ace.

If you're very noise-sensitive, be warned that the hosts have two adorable and active twins who you will likely hear at some point. Also, be warned that staying in the North Face room means you'll hear the breakfast clamor, so not a good room for late sleepers.

Also, a note to the keepers: offer pre-ground coffee, as the coffee grinder noise is sometimes worse than an alarm clock.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Dancing Bears B&B on the last night of our recent 9-day trip to Alaska. Having had a wonderful experience at the nearby Hidden Creek B&B (also in Girdwood), we were interested to see how Dancing Bears would compare.

It did not do well. We stayed in the Midway room, which is at the end of a narrow hallway cramped with a washer and dryer. The room was clean and relatively spacious, but the bed, although comfortable, had only ropes for a headboard, which made watching the small TV difficult. The bathroom was nice, but having no shampoo was not.

Breakfast the next morning was not at all what we expected. We were told the night before that we could help ourselves to anything in the kitchen (which was very nice, our host Derek's work), and we were surprised - we generally don't plan to cook the breakfast part of a bed and breakfast ourselves! But that is what we were expected to do here - we had to search the kitchen for a pan and spatula so my husband could make himself eggs, I settled for a bagel, and we decided to just get coffee at a nearby bakery. We were asked (on a note in our room) to "tidy the kitchen" when we were done, and didn't know the extent to which they expected us to do so - were we supposed to do our own dishes at a B&B? Our dining experience was diminished further by the sounds of feet running overhead - our host and hostess's children.

My husband and I are generally not this critical of places at which we stay, but at the Dancing Bear B&B, we really felt like they took our money upon our arrival and left us to fend for ourselves. Attention to detail was really lacking, and having to fend for ourselves for breakfast was a really unwelcome surprise. Add to all that the inability to get internet access (although the website claims it is offered), and I think it is pretty clear that we will not be staying here on our next trip to Alaska.

  • Liked — Location; cleanliness
  • Disliked — Making our own breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed for only one night in the "Midway" room - but wish we had stayed longer. It was a newly remodeled room that had all the comforts of home. The Midway room had a very "woodsy" feel - absolutely beautiful. The bathroom was amazing. It had the prettiest sink - we just had to take a photo of it. Nice shower too! All B&B rooms connect to one common area with a great fully-stocked kitchen. Wireless internet came in handy to keep our friends posted on our Alaskan vacation. We would highly recommend this B&B if you are looking for a bit of home on your vacation!

  • Liked — The brand new, Midway room!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We arrived late in Girdwood in the pouring rain and since B&Bs are only allowed a small sign it is difficult to find one but luckily we found the Dancing Bears. Our room was very nice with a comfy bed and desk and it and other rooms all opened out onto a great room/kitchen area for all the guests to use. We were the only ones but our hosts were very hospitable and had freshly bought cofee with a grinder and an assortment of fruits, cereals, raisin bread and bagels with cream cheese as well as juice for us to snack on or have for breakfast. We didn't want to leave. We would go back and it would be a perfect place for several couples or a family group. A short drive took us to Whittier and the ferry the next morning. [--] (907) 783-3083 E: twins101@earthlink.net
mc

  • Liked — the openess and the hosts
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dancing Bears Nightly Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bears Nightly Rental

Address: 127 Cortina Rd, Girdwood, AK 99587
Location: United States > Alaska > Girdwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2010! The "Summit" (upper two floors of the house 100% remodeled) private entryway leads up to a huge open room with hickory hardwood and two story bay windows gazing at Mt. Alyeska. Custom tile kitchen, huge covered deck, incredible tiled bathroom, large master with king bed and balcony, second bedroom for families. First floor has three rooms with queen beds, private baths en-suite, Wi-Fi, cable TV. Rent one room, or whole house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dancing Bears Nightly Rental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.